These are not directories to individual stores. These are specialized directories to specific aspects of the retail industry with an emphasis on buyers, brokers, distributors, and major chain and specialty stores. These directories tend to have a geographic arrangement rather than arranged by company, although they do have company indexes. Additional directories in related areas can be found under Specialized Directories.
- American Book Trade Directory (book)
This is a directory to bookstores, antiquarians, wholesalers, and dealers in the U.S. The subject category listintg is useful to find particular types of bookstores.
- International Council of Shopping Centers Directories.
This is an association for shopping centers. It does maintain several directories of shopping centers. Several of these are only available to members; others are less detailed than what is available for a fee. The section on Research (http://www.icsc.org/rsrch/research.html) has useful information on the retail industry.
- Progressive Grocer's Market Guidebook. (book)
This is a directory of supermarket distribution centers and wholesalers with facts about the various U.S. and Canadian metropolitan areas. It contains area maps and detailed consumer demographics. It is also good for locating individual cities within metropolitan areas. This book is arranged by region and then by metropolitan area. After the map and market information are the directory listings of distribution centers. The detailed analysis of the grocery industry is also very useful.
- Phelon's Discount & Jobbing Trade. (book)
Sheldon's Major Stores & Chains & Resident Buying Offices. (book)
These trade directories to the retail industry, published irregularly these days, cover chain stores, discount stores, TV shopping, wholesale clubs, women's apparel & accessories stores, and more. The directories are arranged by state and city. Each entry provides the name, address, telephone and FAX numbers, number of stores, approximate square footage per store, executives and their titles, and the buyers and the lines of merchandise. Resident buying office information is included in both directories, but more information is provided in Sheldon's. Some Canadian and Mexican retailers are also included.
- Shopping Center Directory. (book)
Arranged by state and then city, each shopping center listed has the basic address and telephone number, mailing address, type of shopping center, year opened, physical configuration, construction activity, owner, leasing agent, architect/engineer, anchor stores, and tenants. Additional information is sometimes provided that includes market strategy, market population and sales.