LibGuides: History: Americas

General

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: African History and Culture, 1540-1921: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
Includes: Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819, Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800, Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819, Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
America: History and Life with Full Text
America: History and Life with Full Text is comprised of journal articles, books and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present time.
American Slavery Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1820-1922
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Digital collection of the American Antiquarian Society’s holdings of slavery and abolition materials consisting of more than 3,500 works published from 1820 to 1922. Collection includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, ephemera and a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of declassified U.S. government documents, meticulously curated and indexed, covering critical events in U.S. foreign policy, intelligence, and national security from 1945 to the present.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, European Views of the Americas covers the history of European exploration as well as European portrayals of Native Americans. Includes texts in English, German, French, Spanish, Polish and Scandinavian.
Coverage: 1493-1750
PRISMA Database This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content. Articles in PRISMA examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies—from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators to politics and society to Hispanic theatre. Coverage of subject areas is comprehensive and includes Anthropology, Business & Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology.

United States

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video documentaries and newsreel footage of key historical events in American history from sources such as PBS, A&E, California Newsreel, and The History Channel.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Maximum concurrent users: 5
American National Biography Online (ANB) provides biographical information about Americans whose lives have shaped the nation. It also includes thousands of images from the National Portrait Gallery.
Civil War Collection This link opens in a new window
Search primary sources from 1855-1869, featuring articles on international trade, foreign perspectives on the U.S. during the Civil War, diverse views on industries, slavery, and pre- and post-war attitudes, along with detailed reports on troop movements.
Collection includes:
- Part I: A Newspaper Perspective: Contains the full text of major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
- Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective: Provides an in-depth look at the day-to-day actions of the troops themselves primarily in the form of regimental histories.
- Part III: The Generals’ Perspective: These volumes allow a look into the way the battles within the war were fought. Here the emphasis is on strategies and tactics as planned and executed by the commanding officers, with a longer-term view as opposed to daily concerns.
- Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective: This collection consists of seven newspapers published in Indiana between 1855 and 1869. Thus, it provides pre-and post-Civil War information in addition to coverage of the war itself.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across America.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Colonial times to 2000
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This resource includes a variety of means to search and navigate the vast amount of data in the Historical Statistics. Users will be able to graph individual tables or to combine data from different tables into "custom tables" and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications. This is a seminal resource for American History.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1960 - 1974
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America through letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage.
Alternate titles: Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Social Explorer provides access to census demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present. Users can create maps and reports to visualize and analyze demography and social change throughout history. Datasets are available at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. A collection of interactive demographic maps can be viewed, queried, and exported as images or PowerPoint presentations.

America’s Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America’s Historical Newspapers includes thousands of titles from all 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more.
AHN searches “Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876” | “Hispanic American Newspapers” | “Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation” | “Early American Newspapers, Series 18: Racial Awakening in the Northeast” | “Early American Newspapers,
Early American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1690-1876
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.
Alternate titles: America’s Historical Newspapers-Early American Newspapers Series I
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1990 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Ethnic NewsWatch includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native American.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
Pennsylvania Gazette: 1728-1800 This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection covers significant events from early colonial expansion (1728) through the American Revolution, the Constitutional Convention, and Washington’s presidency, providing vital insights into U.S. history up to 1800.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1764-1996
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Hartford, CT The Hartford Courant is recognized as the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States. Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover are available back to the first issue in 1764. Researchers can access news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Also available are historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements.
Alternate titles: Hartford Courant, ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1881-1997
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Los Angeles, CA Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover are available back to the first issue in 1881. Researchers can access news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Also available are historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements.
Alternate titles: Los Angeles Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1868-1945
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Atlanta GA Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover are available back to the first issue in 1868. Researchers can access news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Also available are historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements.
Alternate titles: Atlanta Constitution, ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1851-2018
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
New York, NY Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover are available back to the first issue in 1851. Researchers can access news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Also available are historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements.
Alternate titles: New York Times, Proquest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1877-2005
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Washington, DC Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover are available back to the first issue in 1877. Researchers can access news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Also available are historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements.
Alternate titles: Washington Post, ProQuest Historical Newspapers

American County Histories: The Southwest States This link opens in a new window
Provides digitized county histories from Arizona, Arkansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas, published between 1870 and 1923, offering detailed insights into local demographics, culture, and historical events, making it essential for genealogical and historical research.
American West This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Based on sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, this resource covers westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth century to the mid-twentieth century. Includes original manuscripts, maps, photographs and artwork, books and journals, ephemera, broadsides, financial records, and rare printed works.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Arizona Republican This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1890-1922
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Arizona Republican is the major Arizona and Phoenix metropolitan newspaper and later became the Arizona Republic.
Alternate titles: Arizona Republic, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, Arizona Republican

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of legal documents from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries. It includes works by major legal theorists such as Grotius and Vattel, as well as foreign legal treatises, comparative law texts, and international law resources. The collection covers diverse legal systems, including Roman, Islamic, Jewish, and ancient laws, and features materials from Yale Law Library, George Washington University Law Library, and Columbia Law Library.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832--1978 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Contains the records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court from 1832 to 1978. The collection is derived from two reference sources. For 1832 through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library in Philadelphia. For 1915 to 1978, the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.
Alternate titles: U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1789+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ProQuest Congressional provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders. The specific document series included are: Legislative Histories 1969-Present; Bills & Laws 1789-Present; Vote Report 1987-Present; Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817-Present; Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-1997; Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985-Present; CRS Reports 1916-Present; Hearings 1824-Present; House & Senate Documents 1817-Present; House & Senate Reports 1817-Present; Serial Set 1789-2017; Serial Set Maps 1789-Present. V. This Collection also includes: Executive Branch Documents 1789-1939 - the entire range of executive branch publications listed in the authoritative 1909 Checklist, the only systematic effort to provide a complete listing of all documents published by the U.S. Government in its first 120 years. Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932 includes all of the 200,000+ executive branch titles listed in the 1909 Checklist that were not included in the U.S. Serial Set, as well as an additional 200,000 titles from 1910-1932, and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-Present - Executive Orders are the formal means through which the President of the United States executes a wide range of actions related to the Federal Government’s internal operations and organization, as well as foreign and domestic policies. ProQuest provides ‘Cross-search’ capability by highlighting related content in the News (historical and current newspapers) for ProQuest Congressional users.
Alternate titles: Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-Present, CRS Reports 1916-Present, Congressional Publications
ProQuest Executive Branch Documents This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1789-1948
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Available as part of ProQuest Congressional Publications, the Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 targets the entire range of executive branch publications listed in the authoritative 1909 Checklist, a systematic effort to provide a complete listing of all documents published by the U.S. Government in its first 120 years. Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 includes all of the executive branch titles listed in the 1909 Checklist that were not included in the U.S. Serial Set, as well as additional titles chosen from the period 1910 to 1932.
Alternate titles: Executive Branch Documents

Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 20,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in African American History. Updated daily.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by over 1,000 prominent Black leaders, including abolitionists, civil rights activists, and scholars. Spanning 250 years of history, it features letters, speeches, interviews, essays, and periodicals.
Includes complete runs of Artist and Influence: The Journal of Black American Cultural History (1981-2005) and The Black Panther (1967-1980) newspaper.
History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database includes primary sources. It includes the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, the Robert F. Williams Papers, the Arthur W. Mitchell papers, and the papers of the Congress of Racial Equity.

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 19th-century African American newspapers, offering firsthand accounts of cultural life, historical events, and major issues in African American communities, making it an essential resource for studying this period.
Coverage: Varies 1827- 1902
Publications included: The Canadian Observer, The Christian Recorder; The Colored American; Frederick Douglass’ Paper; The Freedmen’s Record; Frederick Douglass Monthly; Freedom’s Journal; The National Era; The Negro Business League Herald; The North Star; Provincial Freeman; Weekly Advocate.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1931-2003
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Atlanta, GA This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A collection of historically significant African American newspapers which provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.
Alternate titles: Black Newspapers Collection
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1909-1975
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Chicago, IL This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: Chicago Defender, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1934-1991
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Cleveland, OH This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1934-2005
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Los Angeles, CA This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: LA Sentinel, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1922-1993
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
New York. NY This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Norfolk Journal and Guide This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1916-2003
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Norfolk, VA This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1912-2001
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Philadelphia, PA This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1911-2002
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Pittsburgh, PA This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1893-1988
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Baltimore, MD This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Database contains historical local, regional and national news. This is an electronic database of articles, which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format.
Alternate titles: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Chicano Database provides access to a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992. Topics covered are class, race, and gender.
Coverage: 1967+
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1808-1980
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Hispanic American Newspapers provides access to a wealth of historical primary source materials. It's the largest online collection of Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in Hispanic American History. Updated daily.

The Lily, 1849-1856 This link opens in a new window
The first newspaper for women in the United States, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). Its local and national focus was both temperance and women’s rights.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Sex, Gender, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Twentieth Century Advice Literature brings together over 100,000 pages of rare material focusing on historical American attitudes towards gender roles and relations, American consumerism, class relations, race, citizenship, education, work, sex, life cycles, family, and religion.
Women's Suffrage This link opens in a new window
Collection spans 1849-1913 and includes six significant women's newspapers, such as The Lily (1849-1856), the first U.S. newspaper for women, The Revolution (1868-1872), and The Remonstrance (1890-1913), offering near-comprehensive coverage of the U.S. Women's Suffrage movement.
Also includes:
- National Citizen and Ballot Box, 1878 - 1881
- The New Citizen, 1909 - 1912
- The Western Women Voter, 1911 - 1913
With only a gap of twelve years, this important collection essentially covers the length and the breath of the Women's Suffrage movement in the United States.

Indigenous Americans

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Native North Americans includes primarily journal articles, but also citations for books and government documents, covering American Indian Studies and all disciplines focused on the Indigenous peoples of North America.
Coverage: 1500+
History Vault: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This database includes primary sources which focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century. The two major collections included are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these 20th Century records, American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.
Alternate titles: ProQuest History Vault: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
American Indian Histories and Cultures contains primary source material such as manuscripts, maps, journals, photographs and drawings which examine the interaction between American Indians and Europeans in the Americans through the late 20th century.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.

Latin America and the Caribbean

Archives Direct: Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
Complete runs of all British Government Confidential Print volumes relating to the nations of South and Central America. This collection begins in the aftermath of independence for the former Spanish and Portuguese colonies of Latin America, addressing the politics of state-building and the Latin American nations’ establishment of their place in the fast-expanding global economy.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Extensive archival material covering Latin American and Caribbean culture and history from the 15th to the 20th century, featuring over 1 million pages curated by leading scholars.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia – Latin American History This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia provides readers with current, peer-reviewed, scholarship on the social history of Latin America from pre-Columbian to modern times.