English Studies

The ASU Library provides current ASU faculty, staff and students with licensed access to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).

• ASU users: if you are experiencing connection or access problems, please consult our Clear your cache FAQ.
• If you have recently cleared your browser's cache for all time and are still experiencing connection issues with that browser, please notify the ASU Library by submitting a Request Library Technical Support ticket.

Licensed Online Full-Text via the ASU Library

• Historical Archive: 1902-2014 (Gale Primary Sources)
• 2012- present (Gale Literature Resource Center)

TLS: Times Literary Supplement (official web-site)

LibKey Nomad is a great free tool which automatically determines if (via the ASU Library) you have licensed access to online journal articles or books.

For information about institutional electronic books available from the library, see our E-Books: Downloading e-Books for Mobile / Offline Use library guide.

For information about licensed online video recordings, please see our Streaming Video library guide.

e-Journals: Alphabetical List by Category and Sub-categories

Languages & Literatures

• English
• Literature - General
• Philology & Linguistics

Music, Dance, Drama & Film

• Film

Consider using BrowZine and creating a free personal account in order to track your favorite available journals and their newly added articles through the "My Bookshelf" feature, and/or to save the full-text of journal articles for later reading via the "My Articles" feature.

The Arts and Humanities category includes:

• Arts and Humanities, General/Interdisciplinary
• Classical Studies
• Creative Writing
• Film and Media Studies
• Literature
• Medieval/Renaissance Studies

Relevant Recently Licensed Electronic Resources

• Academic Search Ultimate (an upgrade from Academic Search Premier; (see why this matters)
• Advances in the History of Rhetoric
• America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers [Series 1, 18 and 19]
• American Indian Newspapers (AM)
• American Speech
• Black Thought and Culture
• Black Women Writers
• British Library Newspapers [ASUL now has all six parts]
• British Periodicals, I-IV (ProQuest)
• Broadway on Demand
• Cambridge Histories Online (additional years)
• Comparative Literature
• Digital Theatre+
• Docuseek: African-American Studies Collection
• Drama Online
• Eighteenth Century Journals
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
• Ethnologue: Languages of the World
• The Irish Review
• JSTOR Arts and Sciences XII Collection
• JSTOR Arts and Sciences XIII Collection
• JSTOR Arts and Sciences XIV Collection
• JSTOR Arts and Sciences XV Collection
• JSTOR Open Access Books
• JSTOR Open Access Journals
• Kanopy: Criterion Collection (browse by category)
• Orlando: Women's Writings in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present
• New Play Exchange
• Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Literature
• PBS Video Collection
• PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association
• Rhetoric Society Quarterly
• The Senses and Society
• Shakespeare Survey
• Studies in the Short Story
• Taylor and Francis eBooks
• The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching
• Very Short Introductions
• Women's Suffrage Collection, 1849-1913

For a full listing of current New / Trial Databases consult our A-Z Databases module.

The ASU Library provides our affiliated users on- and off-campus access to both our Library One Search discovery platform as well as several hundred other licensed search (and content) tools within our A-Z Databases module.

• See our One Search [library guide] information page.

Library One Search: Search Screens

Advanced Search · Basic Search

• Tip: To connect to the ASU Library's Library One Search discovery platform, simply enter search.lib.asu.edu into your web browser.

Library One Search: Search Scopes

ASU Library Catalog · EBSCO · Google Scholar · Open Access

Course Reserves · Journal Title Search

• Tip: Content from EBSCOhost is not included in the All Resources scope, so make sure to search both the All Resources and EBSCO scope. Additionally, you can use our EBSCOhost database to simultaneously search all of our licensed and complimentary EBSCOhost databases.
• Tip: When searching Google Scholar don't just go to scholar.google.com. Instead use the ASU Library's hyperlink - https://libguides.asu.edu/googlescholar. By using our hyperlink you will be required to ASU authenticate and thereby have direct access to not only what publishers have openly posted to Google Scholar, but also, the full-text content of what is licensed (paid for) by the ASU Library.
• Learn about content in the Open Access scope by consulting our Finding it in the Open - Searching for Free or Openly Licensed Content page.

Library One Search: More

Browse
Browse: subject. author. title. call numbers. Library of Congress call numbers. Dewey call numbers. SUDOC call numbers. NLM call numbers.

Beta Search

• About the Beta Search

Library One Search: Help

Looking for a known item? (Citation Linker)
Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.

The ASU Library files the majority of our print materials according to the Library of Congress Classification - meaning that our items' call numbers begin with letters (rather than the Dewey Decimal system's use of numbers at the start of call numbers).
• Items which focus on language and literature are generally assigned call numbers beginning with the letter P - regardless of format (books, digital video discs, journals, video recordings).
• For detailed information about the P class, see the Class P: Language and Literature outline.
• Unsure about terminology to use in your searches? Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings - which is part of the Library of Congress Linked Data Service.

Content/Resources

• For a single search-box of a large percentage of our available content see Library One Search.
• Try BrowZine - a library-supplied tool for browsing, following and reading academic journals licensed by the ASU Library. BrowZine users may create a free personal account to add selected titles to the "My Bookshelf" and "Reading Lists" utilities.

Research Assistance

For research assistance consult our Ask a Librarian or Ask an Archivist pages.