AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "Five Southeastern Tribes" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Five Southeastern Tribes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspapers/Periodicals

American Indian Periodicals on Microform from the Princeton University Library, 1884-1981.

The collection is one of the most important collections of periodicals in the world produced by the Indians. It includes newsletters, church and school bulletins, and political broadsides that cover almost every topic. Ask for guide at reference desk.


Cherokee Phoenix, New Echota, GA (1828-1829), Cherokee Phoenix, Indians’ Advocate, New Echota, GA (1829-1834).

Here is one of the earliest American Indian newspapers, which was first published on February 21, 1828, Elias Boudinot, Editor. The paper is published in English and Cherokee using Sequoya’s syllabary. It emphasizes laws, manners and customs of the Cherokee, news of the day, and miscellaneous articles promoting literature civilization and religion. There is much material on removal. NOTE: An online index is at American Native Press Archives, University of Arkansas, Little Rock: http://anpa.ualr.edu


Chronicles of Oklahoma: http://digital.library.okstate.edu/Chronicles/index.html

Contains numerous journal articles on the Oklahoma tribes. It is searchable and provides full-text printout.


Ethnic Newswatch
Available are a number of Native press papers, which include the Cherokee Advocate.


The site is searchable and full-text articles may be downloaded. It is available by clicking on “articles” from ASU Libraries’ home page.

 

Maps

Atlas of American Indian Affairs, by Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1990. E77 .P83x

Indian Territory, Compiled under the direction of Charles H. Fitch, Topographer in Charge of the Indian Territory Surveys. Department of the Interior, 1898.


Map of the Chickasaw Nation, Indian Territory, Compiled from the Official Records of the United States Geological Survey. Department of the Interior, Commission on the Five Civilized Tribes, 1900.


Map of the Choctaw Nation, Indian Territory, Compiled from the Official Records of the United States Geological Survey. Department of the Interior, Commission on the Five Civilized Tribes, 1900.


Map of Indian Territory and Oklahoma, 1890.


Map showing Progress of Allotment in Creek Nation. Department of the Interior, Commission to the Five Civilized Tribes.

 

Video

Cherokee Odyssey - J. Brian Mead
Call Number: E99.C5 C456x VIDEO
Describes the history of the Cherokee as they devceloped an agricultural economy and an educational system. Tells of their removal from the Eastern states down the Trail of Tears.

Trail of Tears - Marie-France Briselance
Call Number: E93.T72x VIDEO
Describes the westward expansion of the U.S. which led to the seizure of Indian lands and destruction of Indian culture.

 

Reference Books

The following bibliography honors the Five Southeastern Tribes, the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Creek, Choctaw, and Seminole. Material is held in the Labriola Center and covers history of the tribe both before and after removal from their ancestral homelands in the southeast, feast of the Mississippi from Lake Michigan to Florida. They owned plantations, lived in frame houses, had governments with written constitutions, a public school system, a written language, and a newspaper, and some had black slaves. Their forced removal to Oklahoma was authorized by President Andrew Jackson with passage of the 1830 Indian Removal Act. The following bibliography includes basic reference materials along with both primary and secondary resources.

American Indian History - Carole A. Barrett
Call Number: E77 .A496 2003 Ref v.1-2
The volumes contain brief but useful information on Cherokee legal cases; the Choctaw Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek; Indian Removal; Seminole Wars; Trail of Tears; Chickasaw and the Battle of Fallen Timbers; Cherokee Phoenix, and more.

American Indians: Answers to Today’s Questions - Jack Utter
Call Number: E93 .U48 2001 Ref
Here is a volume that could be especially helpful to those just beginning Indian studies. It answers questions about federal “recognition,” treaties, voting rights, trust land, hunting and fishing, economic issues, and more.

Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World: 15,000 Years of Inventions and Innovations - Emory Dean Keoke and Kay Marie Porterfield
Call Number: E54.5 .K46 2002 Ref
The encyclopedia lists the many ways American Indians have contributed to the world’s common fund of knowledge. For example, the Cherokee can be credited with creating various indigestion medications, and sassafras, among others, while the Creek had lacrosse, the Choctaw, chewable dentifrices, and the Seminole had a form of evaporative cooling.

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Sharon Malinowski and Anna Sheets
Call Number: E77 .G15 1998 Ref v.1-4
Each tribe is introduced with a short history in addition to basic information on religion, language, house styles, subsistence, clothing and adornment, healing practices, tribal organization, current tribal issues, with a bibliography for further reading. Organized by culture area.

Handbook of North American Indians: History of Indian-White Relations - Wilcomb E. Washburn
Call Number: E77 .H25 Ref v.4-8
Here is a good deal of information on each of the tribes in addition to an overall look at the Five Tribes as a unit

Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia - Mary B. Daves
Call Number: E76.2 .N36 1994 Ref
Organized alphabetically, the volume contains current and historic information about each of the five tribes, along with various political and policy issues. Here is information on the Indian Reorganization Act, Dawes Act, land claims, and much, much more.

Notable Native Americans - Mary B. Daves
Call Number: E89 .N67 1995 Ref
Contains the bibliographies of both current and past individuals from the five tribes that had influence on the history, culture, and political life of the people.

Tiller’s Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations - Veronica E. Velarde Tiller
Call Number: E93 .T55 1996 Ref
In his preface to the current volume, Senator Daniel Inouye has written that “the economic conditions of Native people and their communities have been largely hidden from America’s awareness and in their place, stereotypes have thrived in the darkness of ignorance. Today, tribal governments are actively employing every conceivable means of revitalizing their economies, and this Guide to Indian Country is a valuable tool that will continue, as it has in the past, to dispel myths and to inform those who desire to work with Native people and their governments to achieve economic renaissance that is the birth right of this nation’s First Americans.”

 

Books

Secondary Sources – Books

 

The following list is a representative sample of material in the Labriola Center. For additional information, search the ASU online catalog under “keyword” for the names of the various tribes. Information can also be found in Hayden stacks, the Law Library, and government documents.

Advancing the Frontier, 1830-1860 - Grant Foreman
Call Number: E93 .F64
Grant Foreman tells the story of the forcible removal of more than 60,000 Indians from the southern states in the decade between 1830 and 1840 to what would be Oklahoma. At that time, the Federal Government had no definable Indian policy. Contains many old photographs and some very good maps.

Africans and /Seminoles: From Removal to Emancipation - Daniel F. Littlefield., Jr. Jackson
Call Number: E99 .S28 L57 2001
Littlefield’s narrative recounts the history of peoples of African descent among the Seminoles from the mid-1830s to the end of the Civil War.

Cherokee Cavaliers: Forty Years of Cherokee History as Told in the Correspondence of the Ridge-Watie-Boudinot Family - Edward Everett Dale & Gaston Litton
Call Number: E99 .C5 C383 1995
The Cherokee cavaliers are Chief John Ross; John Rollin Ridge, writer who followed the gold rush to California; Confederate general Stand Watie, and E.C. Boudinot, Cherokee delegate to the Confederate Congress, and their families. Over 200 letters record over forty years of history.

Chickasaw - Duane k. Hale and Arrell M.Gibson
Call Number: E99 .C55 H35 1991
The authors offer a brief history of the Chickasaw to the present day. Nicely illustrated.

Coacoochee’s Bones: A Seminole Saga - Susan A. Miller
Call Number: E99 .S28 C595 2003
Coacoochee, or Wild Cat, as he was sometimes known, was a warrior and diplomat, who led Seminole resistance to American intrusion in his Florida territory. He relocated to Indian Territory in 1841, all the time resisting colonization. Ultimately, he led a number of his people to Mexico.

The Creeks - Michael D. Green
Call Number: E99 .C9 G738 1990
The Creeks traditionally lived in large towns, in what are now Georgia and Alabama. As with the other four tribes, and under Andrew Jackson’s rule, they were relocated to Indian Country. The book covers Creek history to the present time.

Elias Cornelius Boudinot: A Life on the Cherokee Border - James W. Parins
Call Number: F697 .B753 2006
The biography covers his boyhood in Arkansas, his service as a Confederate soldier and congressional delegate, his efforts as peace negotiator, and his business as a tobacco tycoon, railroad man, lawyer, and rancher.

Five Civilized Tribes: Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, Seminole - Grant Foreman
Call Number: E78 .O45 F6 1934
Here is the classic history of the trek of the five great Southeastern Indian tribes from their hold homes to the Indian Territory west of the Mississippi.

“Message on the Removal of Southern Indians,” by Andrew Jackson. Facts on File, Inc., See ASU Library homepage. Click on “Articles” and search for American Indian History & Culture online database
Andrew Jackson outlines his plan for the removal of Indian tribes.

Splendid Land, Splendid People: The Chickasaw Indians to Removal - James R. Atkinson
Call Number: E99 .C55 A75 2004
Atkinson offers a story of the Chickasaw from the earliest times in Mississippi, Alabama, and Tennessee to removal.

Taking Indian Lands: The Cherokee (Jerome) Commission, 1889-1893 - William T. Hagan
Call Number: E78 .I5 H34 2003
The Cherokee Commission was authorized by Congress in 1889, to negotiate the purchase of huge areas of land from the Cherokee, Iowa, Pawnee, Ponca, Tonakawa, Wichita, Cheyenne, Arapaho, and Sac and Fox Tribes. Here is another story of the U.S. Government using its power through intimidation by accepting allotment, then selling to the United States who then declared it surplus, eventually going to white settlers.

Trail of Tears: The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation - John Ehle
Call Number: E99 .C5 E45 1988
The author writes a history of the Cherokee Nation and the numerous broken treaties that eventually forced the Cherokee people from their eastern homes. There were many actors in the drama including Elias Boudinot, the Ridge and Ross families, and Sequoyah, creator of the Cherokee alphabet.

Voices from the Trail of Tears - Vicki Rozema
Call Number: E99 .C5 V65 2003
Using excerpts from diaries, newspapers, letters, and reports, the author has re-created one of the tragic eras in U. S. history with the voices of those that were there.

 

Language

 

Beginning Creek = Mvskoke emponvkv - Pamela Innes, Linda Alexander, and Bertha Tilkens
Call Number: PM991 .I56 2004
Contains 2 computer discs, conversation and phrase books, along with bibliographical references.

Introduction to Chickasaw - Gregg Howard
Call Number: PM801 .H68x 1995
Chickasaw speakers Yvonne Alberson, Jerry Imotichey, and Carlin Thompson.

Contains two cassettes and a workbook.

Introduction to Choctaw [sound recording], by Charlie Jones. Dallas, TX: VIP Publishing Co., 1993.

Here is a primer for learning to speak, read, and write Choctaws. Two cassettes accompany the text.

Mysteries of Sequoyah - C. W. “Dub” West
Call Number: E99 .C5 W47x 1975
The author tries to trace the events in the life of the untrained individual who had the genius to develop a syllabary that allowed the entire Cherokee Nation to become literate in a manner of a few months.

Seminoles of Florida - Minnie Moore-Willson
Call Number: E99 .S28 W7x 1896
In addition to providing a short cultural history to 1896, the small volume contains a very good glossary of words in use at the time. Historic photographs are included.

 

Census Records

The Dawes Commission and the Allotment of the Five Civilized Tribes, 1893-1914 - Kent Carter
Call Number: E78 .I5 C37 1999
No history of the five tribes is complete without an understanding and overview of the activities of the Dawes Commission, which was authorized by Congress in 1893. The Commission recommended that tribal governments be abolished and tribal lands divided among the individual tribal members.


Dawes Roll “Plus” of Cherokee Nation “1898" - Bob Blankenship
Call Number: E99 .C5 D38x 1994
The information includes Guion Miller Roll information for those that were on both rolls. One can see surname change brought about by marriage, divorce, or adoption, and moiré. All 36,714 Cherokee Nation Citizens of Cherokee Blood are included.

Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory
Call Number: E78 .I5 U27 2003
Index to the Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory, Prepared by the Commission and Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., c1907 [reprinted 2003].

The Dawes Commission sat out to abolish tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Creek, Choctaw, and Seminole, and to provide for allotment of land to tribal members. Application procedures were rigorous, which involved proof of blood and tribal affiliation, and thus became the basis for official identification of degrees of Indian blood among the five tribes. Original Final Rolls are housed in the National Archives. This printed work, however, is one of the best sources for genealogical research.





 

Microforms

Also see the Guide to Microform Publications in ASU Libraries.

American Indian Oral History
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 20490
Here is a collection of primary historical documents relevant to the study of the American Indian. Contained are transcriptions of 600 tape-recorded verbal testimonies of Indian people concerning their history, culture, and philosophy of life. In addition to the Five Tribes are interviews by Kiowa, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Apache, Wichita, Quapaw, Seminole, Wichita, Ponca, Wyandotte, and more.

Council Meetings of the Major American Indian Tribes, 1907-1971 - Frederick, MD
Call Number: E76 .M35x 1982 v.1
Contains the official minutes of Indian council meetings and covers topics of importance to the tribes including claims, mineral rights, tribal funds, water supply and irrigation, proposed federal legislation, hunting and fishing rights, disputes, employment, health, and education. (Film 8527 is in Hayden Microforms along with guide)

Indian Pioneer History Collection - Grant Foreman
Call Number: FILM 9958
Contained are some 11,000 interviews of early settlers, who recorded their story of migration to Oklahoma and their early lives there. Index is on reels 38, 39, and 40

Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes
Call Number: E93.U66732x GUIDE
The collection includes the annual and special reports by the commissioner, covering the years 1893-1920. The reports and hearings form an indispensable source of information about the Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, Seminole, and Cherokee tribes.

Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes
Call Number: FILM 9973
3 Reels
The collection includes the annual and special reports by the commissioner, covering the years 1893-1920. The reports and hearings form an indispensable source of information about the Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, Seminole, and Cherokee tribes.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Joyce Martin
Contact Info
480-965-0298
Hayden Library 2nd floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip