Database, which contains photographs, oral histories dealing with Native Architecture. An illustration comparing all kinds of architecture can be found in LAB EPH IG-1.62/OV
The following biblography lists reference material dealing with American Indian Architecture. These resources include material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries at Arizona State University.
Students from Contruction 101 analyze the cultural context of construction, emphasizing its centrality in the evolution and expansion of built environments as expressions of ethnical and historical value systems.
The author writes about a new phenomenon – the culturally sensitive but modern Native American building. Native American architects and others are creating new structures for housing, gambling halls, and museums throughout the United States.
Providing homes in Indian Country has many challenges. While there is recognition of housing and infrastructure problems, there is little consideration of Native American philosophy or religious values. This study addresses this lack by utilizing the Navajo hooghan as a case study to examine how these values impact thinking, planning, construction and inhabitation of the hooghan.
The encyclopedia covers all culture areas and provides ample information on a variety of aboriginal building techniques and includes information on adobe, igloos , home insulation, quonset huts, pyramids, architects, settlement patterns, cities, road systems, copper tubing, electricity, drill bits, plumbing, stonemasonry techniques, ventilation systems, urban planning, carpentry techniques, and more. See “adobe” for Hohokam and pueblo masonry.
The authors detail winter houses, transitional and summer dwellings, and special use structures constructed by the peoples of Greenland, Central Arctic, Northwest Arctic and Bering Strait, Southwest Alaska, Bering Sea, Siberia, and the Gulf of Alaska. Includes illustrations, bibliography and index
The authors explore in depth, platform mounds found in the American Southwest, their function and construction. They also discuss social organization, environment and economy, religious practices and estimate size of population.
Volumes are organized by culture area, e.g., Plains, Southwest, Southeast, Arctic, Northeast, California, and Northwest Coast. Select tribe of interest through index. Scholar specialists have provided chapters on all tribes. These cover prehistory, settlement patterns, housing, culture history, world view, and more.
Kenneth Funsten of the Los Angeles Times Book Review states, "Hogans contains a sampling of house blessing, songs and prayers identifying the simple,traditional Navajo structures with many-chambered dwellings of tribal gods. Photographs capture sunlight, shadows and silence on the modern reservation, while the translations-keeping vocablesand Navajo word order retain the feeling of their originals better than previous attempts. An excellent tribute to any housewarming."
The volume , is well illustrated with photographs of various Native dwellings found in nine culture areas: Northeast/Great Lakes; Southeast; Plains; Plateau; Arctic and Sub-Arctic; Northwest Coast; California and the Great Basin; Southwest I; and Southwest II. The building materials came from the environment in which the various groups lived and could be trees, grass, skin, bark, wood, clay, stone, ice, or snow. In addition, there are architectural drawings, floor plans, and village site plans.
Aboriginal architecture living architecture offers an in-depth look into the diversity of North American Native architecture. Featuring expert commentary and imagery, this program provides a virtual tour of seven aboriginal communities-- Pueblo, Mohawk, Inuite, Crow, Navajo, Coast Salish, and Haida-- revealing how each is actively reinterpreting and adapting traditional forms for contemporary purposes.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.