American Indian Studies
- Home
- Article Databases
- Subject Guides
- American Indian Architecture
- American Indian Child Welfare Act
- American Indian Economic Development
- American Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission Schools
- American Indian Genealogy
- American Indian Languages
- American Indian Sovereignty
- American Indian Stereotypes
- American Indian Theatre
- American Indian Women
- Autobiography and Primary Sources
- Bibliography on Repatriation
- Environmental Issues
- Five Southeastern Tribes
- Historical and Contemporary American Indian Gaming
- Religion and Origin Stories
- Veterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
- ManuscriptsToggle Dropdown
- Oral History GuidesToggle Dropdown
- Useful Websites
- Citing Sources
- Labriola Center Video List
Article Databases
The following indexes and databases are accessed from the Arizona State University Libraries home page by clicking on “Articles” and entering the title of the database in the space provided.
- American Indian History and CultureAmerican Indian History and Culture is useful for searches on keywords: environment; mining; oil; fishing rights; water rights; etc.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1990 to present including:Indian Country Today, Navajo Times, and News from Indian Countr
Websites
In addition to the most important links listed below, there are a number of ever changing sites set up by environmental groups focusing on native peoples, land and communities.
- American Indian Environmental OfficeA division of the United States Environmental Protection Agency and coordinates the Agency-wide effort to strengthen public health and environmental protection in Indian Country, with a special emphasis on building Tribal capacity to administer their own
- Diné CARE: Diné Citizens Against Ruining our EnvironmentDiné CARE is an all-Navajo environmental organization dedicated to empowering local Navajo communities to organize and prevent further environmental degradation to their land and people.
- National Tribal Environmental Council: A Tribal Vision for Environmental QualityThe website is a comprehensive resource for American Indian & Alaska Native communities, state & federal agencies, and private and non-profit organizations interested in protecting tribal environments.
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencyLocated in Washington D.C. the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) was established to consolidate in one agency a variety of federal research, monitoring, standard-setting and enforcement activities to ensure environmental protection. EPA's mission is t
Reference Books
- American Indian Environments: Ecological Issues in Native American History by Christopher Vecsey and Robert W. VenablesCall number: E98 .L3 A46A collection of contrasting views of Indian and white attitudes on nature, subsistence techniques, white removal of Indians from their homelands, and the effects of white ecological practices on the Indian population and the American landscape.
- American Indian Water Rights and the Limits of Law by Lloyd BurtonCall number: KF 8210 .N37 B87 1991Focuses on the history of American Indian water rights and disputes after 1908.
- And Still the Waters Run: The Betrayal of the Five Civilized Tribes by Angie DeboCall number: E78 .I5 D4 1973The Choctaws, Chickasaws, Cherokees, Creeks, and Seminoles owned half of Oklahoma, and with discovery of oil and other natural resources, the tribes were forced to move.
- Breaking the Iron Bonds: Indian Control of Energy Development by Marjane AmblerCall number: E98 .L3 A43 1990The author focuses on fifteen western Indian reservations having the majority of coal, uranium, oil and gas deposits. The book briefly introduces a reader to the history of federal Indian policies, economic development, reservation energy development, and tribal control over its natural resources.
- Command of the Waters: Iron Triangles, Federal Water Development, and Indian Water by Daniel McCoolCall number: HD 1694 .A5 M4 1994The author examines Indian water rights and the conflicting relationships with the federal government and Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- Ecocide of Native America: Environmental Destruction of Indian Lands and Peoples by Donald A. Grinde and Bruce E. JohansenCall number: E98 .L3 G74 1995This book covers expropriation of land, destruction by strip mining, the effects of uranium mining, water contamination, and air and groundwater pollution.
- Empty Nets: Indians, Dams, and the Columbia River by Roberta UlrichCall number: KF 8210 .N37 U45 1999Describes the detrimental effects the Bonneville Dam in Oregon has created on the salmon and the traditional fishing sites of the Columbia River Indians.
- Mining, the Environment, and Indigenous Development Conflicts by Saleem H. AliCall number: E98 .L3 A35 2003The book examines the environmental conflicts between mining companies and indigenous communities.
- If You Poison Us: Uranium and Native Americans by Peter H. EichstaedtCall number: E99 .N3 E29 1994Author reviews the detrimental impacts of uranium mining inflicted on the Navajo people and their lands.
- Indian Country, God’s Country: Native Americans and the National Parks by Philip BurnhamCall number: E98 .L3 B87 2000Burnham reviews the complicated relationship between Native Americans and the national parks including the removal and/or relocation of Indian tribes.
- Inuit, Whaling, and Sustainability by Milton M.R. FreemanCall number: E99 .E7 I564 1998An extensive overview on issues confronting the Inuit people, traditional whale hunting, and the effects of commercial whaling.
- Mother Earth, Father Sky, and Economic Development: Navajo Resources and Their Use by Philip RenoCall number: E99 .N3 R458The book focuses on Navajo natural resources including: economic development; livestock; water issues;
irrigation; timber; coal; oil and uranium. - Native Americans and Energy Development by Harris ArthurCall number: E98 .E2 N37Various authors contribute to the energy development on the Hopi Reservation, the Navajo Nation (including Black Mesa coal mine) and tribal control on natural resources.
- Native Waters: Contemporary Indian Water Settlements and the Second Treaty Era by Daniel McCoolCall number: KF 8210 .N37 M38 2002Provides an overview of current Indian water settlements with non-Indians since the 1980s.
- Navajo Land, Navajo Culture: The Utah Experience in the Twentieth Century, by Robert S. McPhersonCall number: E99 .N3 M5158 2001A few chapters focus on stock reduction, the uranium industry, and petroleum mines on the Navajo reservation.
- To Fish in Common: The Ethnohistory of Lummi Indian Salmon Fishing by Daniel L. BoxbergerCall number: E99 .L95 B68 1999A case study of theLummi Indians and the impacts of technological advances, their relationships with the state and federal governments, commercial fishing, and it’s affects on their access to salmon.
- Uncommon Controversy: Fishing Rights of the Muckleshoot, Puyallup, and Nisqually Indians by American Friends Service CommitteeCall number: E78 .W3 U25 1970Focuses on attitudes and conflicts of three tribes and state agencies on the fishing rights on rivers near the Southern end of Puget Sound.
The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with American Indian Environmental Issues. These resources include material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the ASU Library at Arizona State University, and websites.
Books
- Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia by Mary B. DavisCall number: E76.2 .N36 1994 RefSee Environmental Issues, Fishing and Hunting Rights, Mining, Natural Resource Management, Water Rights, Whaling, etc.
- Handbook of North American Indians, vol. 4 by Wilcomb E. WashburnCall number: E77 .H25 RefSee Ecological Change and Indian-White Relations.
- The Native North American Almanac by Duane ChampagneCall number: E76.2 .N43xSee Environment and Economic Development.
The following reference books can be found in the Labriola Center near the reference desk.
DVDs
- NIHIZAZI K’EEDA’DIDLEEH NT’EE’: Our Elders All Knew How to Farm by U.S. Department of Interior, Bureau of ReclamationCall number: E99 .N3 N55 2005 DVDDocumentary on the history of the irrigation project in Ganado, Arizona and the reestablishment of the project in 2001.
- The Snowbowl Effect by Indigenous Action MediaCall number: E98 .R3 S66 2005 DVDExplores the debate of Native American tribal officials, spiritual leaders, Forest Service officials and concerned citizens over the proposed expansion of the Snowbowl ski resort and snowmaking using reclaimed water. Snowbowl ski resort is located on the San Francisco Peaks located near Flagstaff, Arizona.
Video and Audio
- My Strength is From the Fish by Wild Hare MediaCall number: E98 .F4 M9x 1994 VIDEOVideo examines the importance of salmon to the Indians of the Columbia River. Part I of III.
- Empty Promises, Empty Nets by Wild Hare MediaCall number: E98 .F4 E47x 1994 VIDEOAn overview of the guarantee of treaty Indian fishing rights of the Columbia River tribes. Part II of III.
- Matter of Trust by Wild Hare MediaCall number: E98 .F4 M38x 1995 VIDEOThe environmental impacts on salmon runs including: irrigation, fertilizers, chemicals, illegal water spreading, logging, road building and cattle grazing.
- Black Mesa: A Tragedy by Center for Cassette StudiesCall number: E99 .H7 B55 1973 cassetteAudio overview of the Black Mesa coal mine and the Hopi Indians.
- Educational Studies and UraniumCall number: LAB AUDIO AT-117An Indian law student’s lecture on uranium mining on Indian lands.
Miscellaneous
Manuscript Collections
The following manuscript collections can be found in the Labriola Center. A finding guide is available at the Labriola reference desk. Also at the Arizona Archives online http://aao.lib.asu.edu/index.html
Peterson Zah Collection, 1969-1994. Contains professional papers and correspondence, newspapers articles, photographs, audiovisual materials, and artifacts that range from 1969-1994. Other topics covered include: grazing issues; water rights; toxic waste; uranium workers; environmental issues and Navajo irrigation project.
Peter Iverson Collection, 1898-2002. Contains research materials, which were collected to support Dr. Iverson’s various publications. Other environmental topics consist of: water rights; effects of Uranium on the Navajos; stock reduction and mining leases.
Oral Histories
American Indian Oral History Collection, El Paso, TX: Southwest Micropublishing, 1990. Contains transcripts of oral histories and interviews of Navajo and Pueblo Indians held at the University of New Mexico in conjunction with the Center for Southwest Research. Primary sources on the effects of livestock reduction, water rights and land issues. A finding guide is available.
- Last updated: Feb 14, 2024 5:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/LabriolaCenter
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
