Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


American Indian Studies

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.

Article Databases

Reference Books

The following bibliography lists works by and about Native American Women. The material is found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, University Libraries, Arizona State University. Included are biography and autobiography, oral interviews, fiction and non-fiction, and reference works. These are found in various formats: books, audio tape, CD-ROM, video recording, and microfilm. These are listed in the ASUs online catalog.

Autobiography

Oral History Collections

Oral Interviews


American Indian Oral History Collection, Clearwater Publishing Company, 1977-1981. Thirty half-hour interviews features a number of women from Plains tribes. On audio Cassette. Ask for guide. E77 .A45x 1977 v 1:1-15


American Indian Oral History Transcripts, 1967-1972. Eleven microfilm reels of transcripts held at the Southwest Research Center, University of New Mexico. Contains over 800 interviews (many women) from the Navajo Nation and New Mexico Pueblos. Ask for guide. FILM 9642 reel 1-11


Listening to Indians, New York Times Oral History Program, 1979. The set contains 144 interviews of individuals representing numerous tribes. Ask for guide or search the American Indian Index for a list of women contributors.E98 .S67 L55 Guide


University of South Dakota Indian Oral History Collection, Vermillion, South Dakota, 1960-1970. Contains taped series of interviews with Plains Indians, mainly from Sioux tribes. Many women are represented. Ask for guide. E78 .G73 A525 2002


Wisdom's Daughters: Conversations with Women Elders of Native America, HarperCollins, 1993. Eldewrs represented are Tewa, Chumash, Northern Cheyenne, Seminole,Ojibway, Oneida, Senecxa, Hoh, Cowichan, and Mohawk,. E98 .W8 W27 1993

Video Recordings

Hours and Locations