American Indian Studies
- Home
- Article Databases
- Subject Guides
- American Indian Architecture
- American Indian Child Welfare Act
- American Indian Economic Development
- American Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission Schools
- American Indian Genealogy
- American Indian Languages
- American Indian Sovereignty
- American Indian Stereotypes
- American Indian Theatre
- American Indian Women
- Autobiography and Primary Sources
- Bibliography on Repatriation
- Environmental Issues
- Five Southeastern Tribes
- Historical and Contemporary American Indian Gaming
- Religion and Origin Stories
- Veterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
- ManuscriptsToggle Dropdown
- Oral History GuidesToggle Dropdown
- Useful Websites
- Citing Sources
- Labriola Center Video List
Introduction
The Indian Child Welfare Act, passed into law on November 8, 1978, established minimum federal standards for the removal of Indian children from their families and the placement of these children in foster or adoptive homes. In essence, the act restricts the placement of Indian children in non-Indian homes and gives jurisdiction to tribal courts in deciding matters of child welfare cases, even when problems occur off the reservation.
The law was specifically designed to end discriminatory practices of state and county welfare agencies which disregarded Indian extended family arrangements and placed large numbers of Indian children in non –Indian homes.
Below is a list of readings published by the National Indian Child Welfare Association. These have been cataloged to the Labriola Center, and are listed in the ASU Online Catalog. In addition, consult the Library One Search with a keyword search for “Indian Child Welfare Act,” and using the same terms, search the American Indian Index (from the Library home page, click on “Articles” and type American Indian Index). From the same point, search Ethnic Newswatch, or ERIC for additional material.
For general information, take a look at American Indians in the Twentieth Century on the Labriola reference shelf.
Article Databases
- American Indian IndexPart of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian in Alaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection.
- Ethnic NewswatchFull-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals.Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.
Recommended Books
- Child abuse and neglect : an examination of American Indian data by Kathleen A. EarleCall number: E98 .C5 E37 2000This study compares existing published reports of child abuse and neglect among secondary data from the national archives on child abuse and neglect. Implications of the findings are discussed, and practice, policy, and research recommendations are offered.
- Child Abuse and Neglect Among American Indian/Alaska Native Children: An Analysis of Existing Data by Kathleen A. Earle and Amanda CrossCall number: E98 .C5 E38 2001This study compares existing published reports of child abuse and neglect among secondary data from the national archives on child abuse and neglect. Implications of the findings are discussed, and practice, policy, and research recommendations are offered.
- Family Preservation: A Case Study of Indian Tribal Practice by John G. Red HorseCall number: E98 .C5 R43 2001Following a cultural network review model examining life situations, family lifestyles, cultural cohesion, geographic and population characteristics, mediating structures, and institutional arrangements, this case study describes family preservation services at the Ft. Berthold Reservation in North Dakota. Data gathering though talking circles and personal interviews with elders and tribal staff are presented. Recommendations for effective tribal family preservation services are presented.
- Family Preservation: Concepts in American Indian Communities by John G. Red HorseCall number: E98 .C5 F353 2000Using a reality based research model, this study traces American Indian concepts of family preservation and compares them with mainstream theories that guide services to Indian communities. Results from information gathered through surveys, talking circles, and a community review process are presented. Implications of the results and recommendations that draw attention to the importance of Indian values and traditional practices, particularly as guides for family preservation research, are discussed.
- The Indian Child Welfare Act: An Examination of State Compliance in Arizona by Eddie F. BrownCall number: KF8210 .C45 I528 2002This study examines compliance with the provision of the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) in Arizona. Data on the five primary areas of compliance were collected using recommendations provided to improve policies and procedures to assist states in more thoroughly complying with ICWA’s mandates.
- Indian Child Welfare Act: A Pilot Study of Compliance in North Dakota by B.J. JonesCall number: E98 .C5 I52 2000This pilot study examines Indian Child Welfare Act compliance in nine North Dakota counties with the highest number of Indian children in foster care. Results from case record reviews, focus groups and structured interviews are presented. Implications of the results and recommendations to improve ICWA compliance in North Dakota are discussed.
- Native American Children and Youth Well-being Indicators: a Strengths Perspective by Charlotte GoodluckCall number: E98 .C5 G67 2002Using both qualitative and quantitative approaches to research, this report provides an exploratory investigation that aims to expand the strengths perspective literature on Native American children and youth and to provide recommendations for research, policy, and practice.
- Native American Kids 2000: Indian Child Well-being Indicators by Charlotte Goodluck and Angela A. WilletoCall number: E98 .C5 G65 2000This report addresses Native American children well-being within the contexts of research, culture, and history. Pertinent studies are reviewed to provide greater insight into the issues connected with collecting data on Native American families and indicators of well-being. Issues related to research with Native Americans and methodological problems such as the lack of access to and the inconsistency of data is discussed.
- Native American Kids 2001: Indian Children's Well-being Indicators Data Book by Charlotte T. Goodluck and Angela A. WilletoCall number: E98 .C5 G652 2001This report provides a comprehensive literature review and percentages and rates of 10 well-being indicators for Native American children. One of the major finds is that of the 10 indicators, compared to the general U.S. population, Native American children are doing well in only one: low infant birth weight. This study concludes with practice and policy recommendations for each of the indicators, as well as information on how to understand and make changes in this specialized area of child welfare.
- Native American Kids 2002: Indian Children's Well-being Indicators Data Book for 13 States by Angela A. WilletoCall number: E98 .C5 W54 2002This report presents a literature review of 10 well-being indicators for Native American children. It draws upon information from regional state and tribal empirical studies. In additions, it provides Native American rates and percentages for 10 well-being indicators nationally and in 13 selected states. The report concludes with empirically-based recommendations for addressing the well-being of Native American children.
- Title IV-B Child and Family Services Plans: An Evaluation of Specific Measures Taken by States to Comply with the Indian Child Welfare Act by Eddie F. BrownCall number: E98 .C5 T58 2001This study responds to the lack of knowledge-based research conducted on the implementation of ICWA. The study examines a nationwide sample of ICWA sections described in state Title IV-B Child and Family Service Plans and Annual Progress and Service’s Reports. Recommendations for improvements in Title IV-B reporting requirements surrounding ICWA compliance procedures are provided.
- Transition Programs in Indian Country by Thomas L. Crofoot GrahamCall number: E98 .Y68 T73 2001Provides an initial understanding of programs available to American Indian youth and services provided within American Indian communities.
- Tribal/State Title IV-E Intergovernmental Agreements: Facilitating Tribal Access to Federal Resources by Eddie F. BrownCall number: E93 .T75 2000This study provides a comprehensive overview of current IV-E intergovernmental provisions in order to assist tribes and states in strengthening both new and existing IV-E agreements. Results from a nationwide content analysis of existing IV-E documents, focus groups, and telephone interviews with tribal and state representatives are presented. Implications of the results and recommendations to help facilitate tribal access to Title IV-E federal funding are discussed.
- Last updated: Feb 14, 2024 5:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/LabriolaCenter
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
