Ethnic News Watch is a database with over 100 ethnic newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters. One advantage to this database is that the articles come in full-text and can be e-mailed directly from the text. To search Ethnic News Watch, just click
A great starting point in researching economic development, this reference book provides a very brief description of the economic conditions of American Indians in comparison to the rest of American society. Also, a brief introduction to economic development discusses external and internal struggles when developing economic strategies for Indian communities. Additional references and readings are also provided.
Published by the National Native American Cooperative, this directory provides contact information for galleries, Indian stores, trading posts, organizations, media outlets and tribal offices. Very user friendly, the table of contents is divided among Alaska, Canada, United States, Buyers Guide, and Tracing Your Indian Ancestry.
This hidden treasure would be very valuable in researching economic development and American Indians. Alphabetically organized by state, a profile of reservations is provided giving statistical information and a dense background of each community is described. Background subtitles include and are not limited to: location, climate, government, economy, mining, health care, and infrastructure.
This directory is a good source for people wanting to contact tribal offices in Arizona. County, state, congressional, and federal agencies are listed with contact information as well. Contacts for Arizona state and national Indian organizations and organizations concerning gaming and media are included.
This reference book is an excellent source when researching any topic about American Indians. This book contains an elaborate table of contents including a list of questions discussed in each chapter. It is a useful source for researchers looking to answer specific questions.
The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with Economic Development of American Indian tribes. These resources include material found in the Labriola American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries at Arizona State University, websites, and other research facilities.
This book concentrates on self-governance and economic development, keeping American Indian policy in mind. Some topics covered are: Indian preference; property rights; the tribal college movement; and multiple case studies.
A comparison between two different tribal economic ventures and how each tribe reacted to market and political forces is examined in this text. The impact of economic development and cultural values along with “purposeful modernization” are also explored at greater length.
The 45-page booklet is a starting point in researching economic development, quickly carrying the researcher through the Removal, Reservation, and Allotment Periods of Indian policy. Tribal programs and services through the Bureau of Indian Affairs are explored. Lastly, examples and ideas about different economic development ventures are illustrated.
This book is organized in a textbook fashion with lessons and tasks that need to be considered when researching economic development. Current economic conditions, concepts and terms, and a history of economic development are just some of the topics of the seven units in the book.
This bibliography has very useful information and is split according to types or sources such as: articles; books; congressional hearings and reports; contracts and agreements; memoranda; reports and studies; and tribal code compilations. The variety of resources available will be helpful in providing many points of view.
This book contains progress reports that tackle the question of how to utilize natural tribal resources as a means for economic development. Many aspects of economic development are explored such as: oil, gas, mineral, timber, fisheries, tourism and recreations. Useful illustrations like pictures, charts and graphs are included. Topics ranging from managing real estate to job training on the reservations are explored.
Alphabetically arranged, this encyclopedia references many terms that are related, in some way or another, to the economy. Terms range from “agriculture” and “buttlegging” (known as “bootlegging” today) to “Ponca economy” and “wild rice.” Descriptions of some tribes’ economic ways are listed according to tribe.
This directory was created in an effort to aid agencies and contractors looking for American Indian firms to meet product and/or service needs. It is divided into three regions that are Southwest, Pacific, and Northwest. Within each region, the directory organized it according to specific services provided such as: Construction, Product/Supplies, Service, and Research & Development.
This 29-minute video weighs the financial benefits derived by host communities against the casino’s detrimental effects on local business. Living conditions among those in communities with casinos are compared with other similar communities. Experts include a casino manager, a professor of economics, and an anti-gambling activist.
Included are small manuscripts, informational brochures, museum publications, photographs (including slides), radio transcripts, articles, and poetry. To find ephemera related to sovereignty, search the American Indian Index and the Arizona and Southwestern Index, which are accessed from the University Libraries home page under “Indexes”. Examples of subjects are: economic development, economic conditions, economics, and businesses.
Evergreen: The Magazine of The Evergreen, June 1998. This issue is themed “ Forestry In Indian Country: Progress & Promise”, looking at Indian country’s timber resource as an industry for economic development. Provided are useful maps, charts and tables about the timber industry in relation to tribal reservations. Labriola LAB EPH P-183
“How Soon Can You Stock Your New Store, Mr. Basha?: A Cross Cultural Comedy of Manners.”, Arizona Monthly, Vol. 1 #2, p 31. This article tells a story of how a Bashas’ grocery store was built in Sells, Arizona despite a financial advisor’s prediction of little financial profits. Labriola LAB EPH IPA-48
“The Role of Libraries/Information Centers in Indian Economic Development and Political and Political Self-Determination,” by Joseph R. Hardy. This paper was prepared for the White House Pre-Conference on Indian Library and Information Services On or Near Reservations. The importance of tribes having their own storage and archival facility for research and planning purposes for issues like economic development is discussed. Labriola LAB EPH FLB–9
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.