The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with oral histories. These resources include material found in the Labriola American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries at ArizonaStateUniversity, websites, and other research facilities. This subject guide is also located in the LabriolaCenter website at: www.asu.edi/archives/labriola.htm In addition, guides to individual collections can be found in the Center. All are considered Primary Sources.
American Indian Oral History Collection, 1967-1977. E77 .A45x 1977 [Sound Recording].
Partial set found under REC 835-846. Joseph H. Cash, General Editor. New York:
Thirty half-hour interviews on audio cassettes. The tapes offer a board account of the experience of being and Indian, from recollections of 19th century Indian-white relations History Collection and Indigenous Indian Culture to the experience of today’s young Indians struggling to survive in White America without sacrificing their ethnic identity. Covers many different tribes.
American Indian Oral History Collection, 1967-1972, film 9642 [Microform] University of
New Mexico, Center for Southwest Research – Doris Duke Oral History Project
The American Indian Oral History Collection contains transcripts from interviews and histories of Native Americans from the Southwest. Reels 1 through 6 contain Navajo Oral Histories, which include such topics as Education, Religion, Politics, Medicine, Crafts, Songs, Land Management, and Life Stories told by Ancestors. Reels 7 through 11 include oral histories from the Rio Grande Pueblo, cover topics such as Hunting, Painting, Living Habits, Education, Employment, Trade, Government, Clan Politics, and Council Meetings as well as personal histories and life experiences.
Listening to Indians, 1978, LAB FICHE #43-#185 [Microform]. New York Times Oral
History Project, Directed by Samuel I. Meyers
The Collection includes 144 transripts of interviews of numerous tribal members such as: Chippewa, Potawatomie; Seminole; Menominee; Crow; Hopi; Navajo; Ute; Klallum; Cowlitz and many, many more. Ask for guide to subjects, LAB L-14
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984, LAB EPH LO 2-12
[Sound Recording]. Collection of audio tapes and transcripts donated by Stephen
Amerman, Ph.D. Part of dissertation, “Makingan Indian Place in Urban Schools:
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix.
The Collection features eight former students, one community activist, and the minister for Central Presbyterian Church, a Native church in down town Phoenix. The oral histories touch on the issues of minority representation on the school board and in the classroom, and the interaction between various minority groups in the schools. Community life, activism, and the role of Central Presbyterian Church are major themes.
Oral History Tapes of Ralph Cameron, recorded 1991-1995 [Sound Recording].
Audio tapes LAB LO-1-6
The Collection contains six audio tapes recorded by Ralph Cameron (Pima-Maricopa) of Phoenix, Arizona. Mr. Cameron discusses education at both PhoenixIndianSchool and Sherman Institute in Riverside, California, World War military exploits, Community activities, speaking to his grandchildren, and children’s stories.
Ponca Oral History Collection, recorded 1990s [Sound Recording]. Audio tapes
LAB LO-14-16. Donated by Scott E. White, Ph.D. as part of his research for his
dissertation, “A History of the Poncas in Nebraska: A Struggle for Survival.
White covers the history of the Nebraska Poncas from the earliest times to the present. His tribe has suffered through a long history of military incursions, forced removal, and ultimatel termination. Finally, in 1990, recognition was restored.
University of South Dakota Oral History Collection, 1960s-1970s [Microform].
LAB FICHE 4x6 3004. Part of the American Indian Research Project,
University of South Dakota, Vermillion.
Most of the Native informants belonged to the various bands of the Lakota Sioux, but the subject matter often covered other Native peoples such as the Ute. Most were elderly, thus providing first-hand accounts of events going back as far as the 1862 Upraising to the 1972 presidential election. Topics are varied and include such subjects as labor, education, land claims, sports, ceremonies, medicine, relations with non-Indians, and more.
Books - Autobiographies and Oral Histories
Partial list of holdings in the LabriolaCenter
ALCATRAZ ! ALCATRAZ !: The Indian Occupation of 1969-1971, foreward by Vine
Deloria, Jr. Berkley: Heyday Books, 1992.
Labriola E99 .D1 E15 1992
Always a People: Oral Histories of Contemporary Woodland Indians, Rita Kohn.
Bloomington: IndianaUniversity Press, 1997.
Labriola E78 .E2 A58 1997
American Indian Activism: Alcatraz to the Longest Walk, Troy Johnson, Joane Nagel,
And Duane Champagne. Urban: University of Illinois Press, 1997.
Labriola E78 .C15 A2 1997
As Long as the River Shall Flow: The Stories of Nine Native Americans.
Labriola E98 .F6 N383
Autobiography of Ma-ka-tai-me-she-kia-kiak or Black Hawk.
Labriola E83.83 .B62 2002
Eyewitnesses to the Indian Wars, 1865-1890. Labriola E99 .A6 E94 2001
Choteau Creek: A Sioux Réminiscence.
Labriola E99 .Y25 D33
During My Time: Florence Edenshaw Davidson, a Haida Woman
Labriola E99 .H2 D383 1982
Hunting Sacred: Everything Listens (Pueblo), Larry Littlebird. Santa Fe: Western Edge Press, 2001. Labriola PS3562 .I7838 H87 2001
Journey of Navajo Oshley; An Autobiography and Life History, Robert S. McPherson, ed.
Logan, Utah: UtahStateUniversity Press, 2000.
Labriola E99 .N3 O766 2000
Lakota and Cheyenne : Indian Views of the Great Sioux War, 1876-1877
Labriola E83.876 .L25 1994
Messengers of the Wind
Labriola E98 .W8 M47
Our Tellings: Interior Salish Stories of the Nlha7kápmx people
Labriola E99 .N96 O83x 1996
Voices of American Indian Assimilation and Resistance, Siobhan Senier. Norman:
University of Oklahoma Press, 2001.
Labriola E98 .C89 S46 2001
Washakie Letters of William Ottogary, Northwestern Shoshone Journalist and Leader,
1906-1929, Matthew E. Kreitzer, ed. Logan, Utah: UtahStateUniversity Press, 2000.
Labriola E99 .S4 O77 2000
We the People: of Earth and Elders, Vol.II, Serle Chapman. Missoula, MT: Montana Press Pub. Co., c2001. Labriola E77 .C422 2001
Wisdomkeepers: Meeting with Native American Spiritual Elders, Harvey Arden and Steve Wall.
Hillsboro, OR. : Beyond Words Pub., 1990.
Labriola E98 .A27 A73x 1990
With Eagle Tail-Arnold Lupson and 30 years Among the Sarcee, Blackfoot, and Stoney Indians,
Colin F. Taylor and Hugh Dempsey. New York: Smithmark, 1999.
Labriola E98 .A34 T39 1999
Yellow Wolf: His Own Story, Lucullus Virgil McWhorter. Ann Arbor, Mich., University
Labriola E83.877 .Y4 1972
Oral History Collections in Other Repositories
The Center for Oral and Public History (COPH) at California State University, Fullerton, has conducted the Ethnic Studies Indian Urbanization Project. The project contains descriptions of several hundred oral histories of professional urban Indians from numerous tribes, including: Delaware, Blackfoot, Wichita, Creek, Hopi, Sioux, Omaha, Chippewa, Navajo, and more. The web page can be viewed at http://coph.fullerton.edu/NativeAmericanProject.htm Copies may be ordered through the Labriola Center.
Doris Duke Indian Oral History Program. Beginning in 1966, the American Tobacco Company and heiress Doris Duke, made yearly grants of roughly $50,000 ti the universities of Arizona, Florida, Illinois, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Utah, in an effort to collect NAtive Amerian oral histories. Ask for guides at the Labriola Center Reference Desk.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.