The following microform publications are available in several places throughout the Hayden and Law Library: Hayden Reference; Hayden Microforms; Law Microforms; and the Arizona and Labriola Collections.
Missionaries reports from the field describing Indian cultures; tribal factionalism; relations with the US Government; Indian education; and Indian woman. Letters reveal attitudes toward Indian people.
Contains transcripts of oral histories held at the University of New Mexico in conjunction with the Center for Southwest Research, University of New Mexico. Six reels contain interviews with members of the Navajo Nation, while five reels contain interviews of individuals from the Pueblo tribes. Ask for printed index.
Opened in 1890, the Santa Fe School provided industrial training for children from Indian reservations in Arizona and New Mexico. The school provided industrial training for children from Cochiti, Jemez, Nambe, Picuris, Pojoaque, San Ildefonso, San Juan, Santa Clara, Santo Domingo, Taos, Tesuque, and Zia. There were also some Navajo, Apache, and Pima students. 38 reels.
Here is one of the earliest American Indian Newspapers, which was first published on February 21, 1828, Elias Boudinot, editor. The paper is published in English and Cherokee, using Sequoya's syllabary. It emphasized laws, manners and customs of the Cherokee, news of the day and miscellaneous articles promoting literature, civilization, and religion. There is much material on removal. Online index at http://anpa.ualr.edu (American Native Press Archives, Universiy of Arkansas, Little Rock)
Contains 157 printed constitutions, statues, session acts and resolutions passed by Indian tribes and nations. The collection is based on a bibliography of the constitutions and laws of the American Indians.
Also Book located KF8220 .A1 H3 1976 Labriola
Part I, Section 1 (1914-1956): Navajo; Five Civilized Tribes; Ute; Pueblo; Cheyenne; and Arapaho; Section 2 (1911-1956): Sioux, Chippewa, and Klamath. Part II, Section 1 (1957-1971): Navajo, Five Civilized Tribes, Ute, Pueblo, Cheyenne, and Arapaho; Section 2 (1957-1971): Sioux, Chippewa, and Klamath. Contains the official minutes of Indian council meetings and covers topics of importance to the tribes including claims, mineral rights, tribal funds, water supply and irrigation, proposed federal legislation, hunting and fishing rights, disputes, employment, and health and education.
(Located in Hayden Microforms)
Also Guide in Hayden Reference E76.G7x and Hayden Microforms Ref E76.M35x v.1
Vols 1-52 (March 1888-November 1940), Philadelphia. This was the organ of the Women's National Indian Association (WNIS), organized in 1879 to seek basic changes in U.S. Indian policies. The WNIA (its name changed to National Indian Association in 1902) was one of the most active and influential of the Indian rights organizations and is given credit for lobbying major legislation on Indian education, citizenship, and civil rights through the U.S. Congress. The Association's efforts and support played an important role in the passage of the Dawes Severalty Act of 1887.
(Also E75.I57x FILM )
Reel 15: Camp McDowell; Camp Verde (Apache-Mohave); Campo (Mission Indians); Canton Asylum. ; Reel 46: Colorado River (Mohave, Chemehuevi, and Walapai Indians).
(Located in Hayden Arizona History Collection )
In 1936, the Oklahoma Historical Society teamed with the history department at the University of Oklahoma to get a Works Progress Administration (WPA) writers' project grant for an interview program. The project employed more than 100 writers scattered across the state, with headquarters in Muskogee, where Grant Foreman served as project director. Asked to "call upon early settlers and (record) the story of the migration to Oklahoma and their early life here," the writers conducted more than 11,000 interviews, edited the accounts into written form, and sent them to the project director who completed the editorial process and had them typed into more than 45,000 pages. 40 reels.
The oldest Association formed to secure for Native Americans their guaranteed political and civil rights. The collection includes records of activities, letters from government offices and officials. 26 reels.
See book length study by William T. Hagan, E93 .H224 Labriola Center
Also LAW MICROFORM E93 .I418 1974 CABINET 24 & Guide
A collection of works selected from the Schomburg Collection of the New York Public Library. The scope of the collection is very broad, including translations of 16th century Spanish books, U. S. government reports, and mid-twentieth century books. ASU online catalog lists contents.
The collection enables scholars to research a wide range of topics: the role of Manifest Destiny on the western frontier; influence of frontier service on U.S. military organization; conventional army tactics vs. Indian guerrilla warfare; the reservation system; causes and effects of Indian uprisings during the Civil War; the army as frontier police force; frontier life; frontier soldiers' view of Indians; and more. (Guide E81.I64x 1996)
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)
Calendars, Interior Department appointment papers, which are composed of class papers submitted by students in partial fulfillment of the requirements for History 401, Arizona State University. Two volumes.
(CD3035.A533x Arizona Collection Reference )
(Located in LAW MICROFORMS)
The microfilm and guide to the John Collier Papers, original papers held in Yale University Library. John Collier was the commissioner of Bureau of Indian Affairs from 1933-1945.
(Law Microforms E93 .C7 J63 1980 GUIDE Cabinet 24 )
This is a refereed journal which publishes papers directly related to the education of North American Indians and Alaska Natives, with an emphasis on basic and applied research. Microfilm volumes 1-11, 13, 15, 19-23, 1961-1976, 1979-1984.
(E75 .P4x FILM LAB)
The series contains incoming correspondence from all sources concerning Indian lands, emigration, treaty negotiations, subsistence, annuity payments, conflicts, depredations, claims, traders and licenses, population, education, progress in agriculture, health, employees, buildings, supplies, accounts, and other administrative matters.
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)
Volumes 1-31 January 13, 1900-June 6, 1931) Phoenix, Arizona. Similar to the Red Man in content, The Native American was published by the pupils of the U.S. Indian Training School in Phoenix, Arizona. During its early years, it concentrated upon educational articles more than did the Red Man, but as time progressed, The Native American broadened its subject matter to include articles on many aspects of Indian life and history. Volumes 2-31 in the Arizona Collection.
(Also E97.P54 FILM Labriola )
Franklin Roosevelt appointed Collier Commissioner of Indian Affairs. Students will find a number of research topics among these papers such as Native American education; Indian Personality Study publications; Native American opposition to Collier's programs; Native American political action groups in New Deal years; Indians of California, Inc. and the law; or the Navajo during Collier's administration.
( Also E93 .L47x 1994 REF )
Son of Yavapai Indians, Montezuma was captured by Pima Indians and sold to Carlos Gentile, who educated him. He became a physician and Indian Rights activist. Montezuma founded a journal, Wassaja, to address the issues. Microfilm copy of collection in the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.
(Located in Hayden Arizona Collection)
Also E99 .Y5 P37x 1975 Guide - Hayden Arizona
"Prepared in the National Anthropological Archives, Department of Anthropology, National Museum of Natural History, Washington, D.C."
pt. 1. A guide to the field notes: Native American history, language, and culture of Alaska/Northwest Coast. 30 reels. -- pt. 2. Northern and Central California. 200 reels.
The emphasis of the collection is upon the Navajo, Hopi, and Zuni Indians, their customs, language, textiles, pottery, religion and way of living. Includes numerous photographs, correspondence, articles, lecture notes. It contains in-depth data on Navajo blankets and insight into the early anthropological and archaeological work with Indians of the Southwest. Original documents are in Tulane University.
(Also E54 .P47 2000 GUIDE - LAB)
The collection explores the historical traditions and current lifestyles of North American Indians. It covers a wide range of topics including arts and crafts, poetry, spiritual guidance, traditional dancing. Included are both Canadian and Eskimo publications.
E75.P4x FILM Supplemental
At head of title: General Services Administration, National Archives and Records Service, Region 7.
"This inventory has been produced in this form ... primarily for internal use. It has not been distributed as a National Archives publication."
Series B, Indian Customs and Social Relations. These materials provide insight into the federal government's effort to "Americanize" or "civilize" Native Americans.
(Also Guide E93 .G873 1995 GUIDE REF)
Published by the U.S. Indian School in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, the magazine features articles on Indian education; activities in the various Indian schools across the nation; and Indian life, history, and crafts.
The books contain manuscript copies of communications sent by the office to members of the President's cabinet having supervisory responsibility for Indian affairs. There are also copies of letters sent to the President and members of Congress.
This collection includes the annual and special reports by the commissioner, covering the years 1893 to 1920. Some of the key congressional hearings concerning the Five Civilized Tribes have been appended to the reports. The reports and hearings form an indispensable source of information about the Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, Seminole, and Cherokee tribes.
(Also E93 . U66732x GUIDE)
The reports document the operations and accomplishments of the agencies, schools, hospitals, and other field jurisdictions throughout the U. S. They relate to law and order, health, land ownership, population, industries, forestry allotments, land sales, and other subjects.
(Also Pamphlet describing - E98 .P76 U9 1977 )
The West Journals Collection is accompanied by: A guide to Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States Reports of the Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes and Survey of Indian Reservation.
(Also West Journals - E93 .U6673 1929b FILM )
(Located in Law Microform )
In existence since 1946, this agency hears and decides claims made against the U. S. government over lands ceded by the Indians in treaties. The microfiche contains 400,000 pages of historical, anthropological, and economic reports on the American Indian.
A collection of taped interviews with the Plains Indians and those non-Indians working actively with them; house in the Library of the University of South Dakota, Vermillion.
(Also E78 .G73 A525 2002 GUIDE )
(Located in Hayden Microforms)
Consists of material on the history and culture of the Navajo and Hidatsa Indians.
(Also in LABRIOLA - E76.45.M37 W47x GUIDE )
American Indian Periodicals on Microform: a Guide to Holdings in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center This collection is one of the most important collections of periodicals in the world produced by Indians. It includes newsletters, church and school bulletins and political broadsides, and covers almost every topic. Indexes three microform sets covering 269 titles: American Indian Periodicals in the Princeton University Library, 1839-1982, American Indian Periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1884-1981, and Periodicals by and about American Indians, 1923-1981.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.