American Indian Studies
- Home
- Article Databases
- Subject Guides
- American Indian Architecture
- American Indian Child Welfare Act
- American Indian Economic Development
- American Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission Schools
- American Indian Genealogy
- American Indian Languages
- American Indian Sovereignty
- American Indian Stereotypes
- American Indian Theatre
- American Indian Women
- Autobiography and Primary Sources
- Bibliography on Repatriation
- Environmental Issues
- Five Southeastern Tribes
- Historical and Contemporary American Indian Gaming
- Religion and Origin Stories
- Veterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
- ManuscriptsToggle Dropdown
- Oral History GuidesToggle Dropdown
- Useful Websites
- Citing Sources
- Labriola Center Video List
Article Databases
The following indexes and databases are accessed from the Arizona State University Libraries home page by clicking on “Articles and entering the title of the database in the space provided.
American Indian History and Culture is a database offering fast access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and biographies.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and Native press from 1990 to present, including: Indian Country Today, News from Indian Country and Akwesasne Notes.
Helpful Websites
In addition to the most important links below, there are a number of ever changing sites set up by varied American Indian theatre projects throughout the country.
“American Indian Community House,” http://www.aich.org/index2.php. The American Indian Community House (AICH) is a not-for-profit organization serving the health, social service, and cultural needs of Native Americans residing in New York City. The AICH Performing Arts Department promotes Native American performing artists and provides a performance space and audience for music, dance and drama, written, directed and produced or performed by indigenous artists.
“American Indian Film Institute,” http://www.aifisf.com/. The American Indian Film Institute (AIFI) is a non-profit media arts center founded in 1979 to foster understanding of the culture, traditions and issues of contemporary Native Americans.
“Yellow Bird Indian Dancers,” http://www.yellowbirdproductions.com/. The dance group presents a repertoire of authentic Apache, Southwest and Northern Plains dances ranging from preschool age to adult dancers. In addition to the dances, they provide professional stage production of their works including: storytellers, lecturers, flute players and native craft demonstrators.
“Project HOOP”, http://www.hoop.aisc.ucla.edu/about.htm. Project Hoop, “Honoring Our Orgins and Peoples” through Native American theater is a national, multi-disciplinary initiative to advance Native theater artistically, academically, and professionally.
Reference Books
- Indian Dances of North America: Their Importance to Indian Life by Reginald and Gladys LaubinCall number: E98 .D2 L28 RefSee following chapters on “Concert Dancing,” and “Indian Dances Today.”
- The Native North American Almanac: A Reference Work on Native North Americans in the United States and Canada by Duane ChampagneCall number: E77 .N36 1994See Theater, Dance, etc. (This reference book is located in the Roos-Blakey Law Library in the Indian Law Section)
- Native North American Firsts by Karen G. SwisherCall number: E77 .S96 1998 RefSee Dance, Music, Performing Arts, Theater, etc.
The following reference books can be found in the Labriola Center near the reference desk.
Books
- American Indian Ballerinas by Lili Cockerille LivingstonCall number: GV1785 . A1 L526 1997An authorized biography of four twentieth-century American Indian ballerinas: Maria Tallchief, Rosella Hightower, Marjorie Tallchief, and Yvonne Chouteau.
- American Gypsy: Six Native American Plays by Diane GlancyCall number: PS 3557 . L294 A84 2002A set of six plays incorporating an array of myth and realities of modern Native American life. The plays range from length from 15 minutes to over an hour.
- Briefcase Warriors: Stories for the Stage by E. Donald Two-RiversCall number: PS 3570 .W6 B75 2001A collection of six plays based on the author’s different aspects of living in an urban environment and focusing on contemporary American Indian issues. The plays range from one act to two acts.
- Buffalo Bill’s America: William Cody and the Wild West Show by Louis S. WarrenCall number: F594 .B94 W37 2005The Wild West Show was one of Buffalo Bill’s successful traveling shows which toured North America and Europe for three decades. His show
consisted of cowboys, cowgirls, Mexican and American Indians. - The Coyote Cycle by Murray MednickCall number: PS 3563 .E25 A6 1985Seven plays written and directed by Murray Mednick and performed by the L.A. Theatre Works. The seven plays include: “Pointing,” “The Shadow Ripens,” “Planet of the Spider People,” “Other Side Camp,” “Listening to Old Nana,” “The Sacred Dump,” “He Brings the Waterfall.”
- A Dancing People: Powwow Culture on the Southern Plains by Clyde EllisCall number: E98 .P86 E55 2003The author explores the origination and the meaning of the Southern Plains powwow, including personal interviews and detailed bibliography.
- New Native American Drama: Three Plays by Hanay GeiogmahCall number: PS 3557 .E357 N4The plays present Native Americans to Native Americans and avoid the Euro-American stereotype of Indians.
- Powwow Country: People of the Circle by Chris RobertsCall number: E98 .P86 R62x 1998Roberts has been a dancer of powwows for over thirty years and he focuses his images on all the facets involved in North American powwows.
- The Pow Wow Trail: Understanding and Enjoying the Native American Pow Wow by Julia C.WhiteCall number: E98 .P86 W48 1996A descriptive guide to powwows, including detailed descriptions of the dances with background information along with history of the dances.
- Stories of Our Way: An Anthology of American Indian Plays by Hanay Geiogamah and Jaye T. DarbyCall number: PS 628 .I53 S76 1999Anthology of twelve plays spanning over thirty years and drawing tribal experiences of Cherokee, Choctaw, Kiowa, Navajo, Oneida, Otoe-Missouria, Rappahonack, and urban Indians. Includes the 1930s classic The Cherokee Night.
- We Dance Because We Can: People of the Powwow by Don Contreras and Diane M. BernsteinCall number: E98 .P86 C65 1996The full-color portraits of more than thirty dancers including profiles of selected tribal leaders, craftsmen, and children.
- Where the Pavement Ends: Five Native American Plays by William S. Yellow Robe, JrCall number: PS 3575 .E46 W48 2000The playwright bases his plays on his own personal experiences and incorporates humor and explores Indian and White relations, ecology and identity.
Videos
- Into the Circle: An Introduction to Native American Powwows by Full Circle CommunicationsCall number: E98 .P86 I58x 1992 VIDEOAn introduction to powwows with an explanation of the following: the evolution of powwows, the role of the drum, the head singer and the songs.
- Keep Your Heart Strong by NAPBCCall number: E98 .P86 K44x VIDEOThe hour-long documentary gives an inside view of the powwow and it’s participants.
- Song to Sing: A Portrait of Bonnie Jo Hunt by Artist of Indian AmericaCall number: ML 420 .H86 S66 1982 VIDEOA biography of an American Indian opera singer Bonnie Jo Hunt.
Other
Periodicals
Native Playwrights’ Newsletter, Paul Rathbun, ed., Madison: NPN, 1993-1996. Addressing theinterest of Indigenous playwrights and theatre artists.
Theses and Dissertations
“The Development of Native American Theatre Companies in the Continental United States,” Sally Ann Heath. Doctor of Philosophy Thesis, University of Colorado, 1996. The study explores the emergence of Native American theatre and it examines the success, failures, and the present state of affairs of theatre companies.
Ephemera
Included are small manuscripts, informational brochures, museum publications, photographs (including slides), articles and poetry. To find ephemera related to American Indian Theatre, search the American Indian Index https://libguides.asu.edu/amerindianidx which is accessed from the Arizona State University Libraries home page under “Specialized Collections.” Type in searches such as: “theatre,” “plays,” “performing arts,” “powwow” and “drama.”
Music
“The Canyon Records Collection,” contains 454 sound recordings (CD’s, LP’s, cassettes) of Native American Music published by Canyon Records of Phoenix, AZ. The items are held at the ASU Music Library and none of the items circulate outside of the library.
- Last updated: Feb 14, 2024 5:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/LabriolaCenter
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
