American Indian Studies
This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
- Home
- Article Databases
- Subject Guides
- American Indian Architecture
- American Indian Child Welfare Act
- American Indian Economic Development
- American Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission Schools
- American Indian Genealogy
- American Indian Languages
- Article Databases
- Cherokee Language Online Database
- Bibles and Hymnals
- Bibliographies
- Bilingual Education and Curriculum
- Culture, History and Language
- Dictionaries and Grammar Books
- English as a Second Language (ESL)
- Guides and Handbooks
- Language Tapes
- Linguistics
- Sign Language
- American Indian Sovereignty
- American Indian Stereotypes
- American Indian Theatre
- American Indian Women
- Autobiography and Primary Sources
- Bibliography on Repatriation
- Environmental Issues
- Five Southeastern Tribes
- Historical and Contemporary American Indian Gaming
- Religion and Origin Stories
- Veterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
- ManuscriptsToggle Dropdown
- Oral History GuidesToggle Dropdown
- Useful Websites
- Citing Sources
- Labriola Center Video List
Article Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaThis bibliography contains thousands of citations to journal articles, essays, monographs, dissertations, and U.S. Government documents related to Native North American history, culture, language, and life.
Z1209 .B535 Online - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).The ERIC database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals.ERIC compiles current journal articles, abstracts of documents and various publications regarding education research and practice. ERIC contains citations regarding Native American language as it relates to education and bilingual education.
- LLBA (Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts)Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of articles from approximately two thousand serials, coverage of recent books, and dissertation listings related to linguistics and language.
Cherokee Language Online Database
- Cherokee Language EngineWebsite will help those who wish to put words into use or need help with tricky verb conjugations. The site has been developed by staff at New Kituwah Academy and contains over 7,000 words and includes phonetic spellings as well as sentence examples and vocal recordings for correct pronunciation.
Bibles and Hymnals
- Book of Psalms Translated into the Choctaw Language by American Bible SocietyCall number: BS345 .C63 P73x 1913
- Cherokee New Testament by Samuel Austin Worcester & Elias BoudinotCall number: BS345 .C45x 1995
- Collection of Hymns, in Muncey and English, for the Use of the Native Indians by Charles HalfmoonCall number: OM1961 .Z71 1874
- Creek (Muscogee) New Testament Concordance by Reverend Lee ChupcoCall number: BS2308 .C9 C93x
- Dakota Wowapi Wakan: the Holy Bible in the Language of the Dakotas by Thomas Williamson & Stephen RiggsCall number: BS345 .D2 1900
- Inupiat Eskimo Hymnbook by Rev John R. Chambers & Rev Samuel SimmondsCall number: M2132 .E8 I58x 1965
The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with Native American languages which is available in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries. It is not comprehensive, but rather a selective list of resources useful for developing language and vocabulary skills, and/or researching a variety of topics dealing with Native North American languages. Additional material may be found using the ASU Online Catalog and the Arizona Southwest Index.
Bibliographies
- Bibliography of Educational Publications for Alaska Native Languages by Mary Jane McGaryCall number: PM501 .A4 M34x 1979Organized by individual tribe, this annotated bibliography of educational publications includes general and reference sources, as well as language and reading materials.
- Proof-Sheets of a Bibliography of the Languages of the North American Indians by James Constantine PillingCall number: PM108 .P56xPilling�s work lists thousands of language and linguistics books published around the world. It is organized alphabetically by individuals and organizations who wrote about or translated American Indian languages.
- Alaska Native Languages : A Bibliographical Catalogue by Michael Krauss & Mary Jane McGaryCall number: PM501 .A4 K7x v.1This catalog contains annotated bibliographic citations of works in or on Alaska Native languages such as Tsimshian, Haida, Comparative Athabaskan, Tliingit, Eyak, Ahtna, Tanaina, Ingalik, Holikachuk, Koyukon, Upper Kuskokwim, Tanana, Tanacross, Upper Tanana, Han and Kutchin.
- Analytical Bibliography of Navajo Reading Materials by Bernard Spolsky, Agnes Holm & Penny MurphyCall number: E99 .N3 S68x 1975Designed as a tool for curriculum developers in the area of Navajo language arts, this volume contains both Navajo and English language materials.
Bilingual Education and Curriculum
- American Indian Language Development Institute Curriculum Guide by Suzanne L. WeryackweCall number: PM205 .A54x v.2This guide provides discussion of philosophy and rationale, as well as curriculum development processes. It includes a model for the Institute, a bilingual curriculum lesson plan, and formats for a language and cultural unit plan, with sections on Hualapai, Havasupai, Papago, Pima, Ute, and Shoshone languages.
- Bilingual Education for Navajo Children: The Rough Rock Experience, N.D. by Paul RosierCall number: LAB EPH EB-49Contains the results of a study on the effect of Bilingual Navajo/ English Education on the Children at Rock Point School in Chinle, Arizona
- Choctaw (Chahta): History, Culture and Language Curriculum Book by Bill PorterCall number: PM871 .P67xThis volume contains units on Choctaw people and language, including activities, worksheets, quizzes, and tests-all with answer keys.
- Annual Indian Curriculum Sharing Faire: Presented by the Greater Sacramento Valley Educators by Varied AuthorsCall number: LAB EPH EC-216American Indian curriculum packet, compiled by the Southwest Resource and Evaluation Center, containing units on Miwok culture, Maidu legends, Native American music, food and more.
- little Herder Series by Ann Nolan ClarkCall number: PE1130 .I6 C517x 1988Classic series of Navajo beginning level readers with text in English and Navajo. Search by Series name in the ASU Library Catalog database on the Online Catalog.
- Menominee Language Manual: Resource Materials and Training Exercises by Irene MackCall number: PM1761 .M46xA compilation of extensive reference and curriculum materials for Menominee language skills.
- Oneida Language Manual: Resource Materials and Training Exercises by Maria HintonCall number: PM2073 .O65xIncludes extensive reference and curriculum materials for Oneida language skills.
The Center has an extensive collection of curriculum and beginning level reading materials, as well as materials on developing classroom language curriculum and classroom language activities. Much of the Center's education and curriculum material can be found through a search in the Arizona Indian Index. To locate call numbers search the Index using such key word combinations as "Indians of North America" and "Bilingual Education," "Teachers and Teaching," "Curriculum," "Education Programs," or simply "Education." For example, to search the ASU Library online catalog and the Arizona Indian Index for information regarding
Native American curriculum, use key words as follows:
INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA CURRICULUM
To search for information regarding education for a specific group of people, use the name of the language and "curriculum" as follows:
NAVAJO CURRICULUM
A sample of our bilingual education and curriculum material follows:
Culture, History and Language
- How to Talk Trash in Cherokee by Don Grooms & John OocummaCall number: PM783 .H69x 1989Humorous how-to book about making small talk in Cherokee, from saying hello to going shopping to how to get "unlost."
- Language maintenance and shift in the United States today : the basic patterns and their social implications by David E. LopezCall number: P119.32 .U6 L66x 1982 v.1-2These volumes contain quantitative material, with discussion, on the maintenance of native languages in the United States.
- Language renewal among American Indian tribes : issues, problems, and prospects by Robert N. St. Clair & Leap WilliamCall number: PM205 .L36 1982This collection includes a range of articles on the preservation of linguistic heritage among Native Americans.
- Native American verbal art : texts and contexts by William M. ClementsCall number: PM218 .C54 1996A reexamination of the European and Euroamerican written records of the spoken words of Native Americans.
- Southwest Languages and Linguistics in Educational Perspective by Gina Cantoni Harvey & M.F. HeiserCall number: P21 .S6x 1974Harvey and Heiser compile articles on the relationship between southwestern languages, culture, and literature.
- Western Apache Language and Culture : Essays in Linguistic Anthropology by Keith H. BassoCall number: PM2583 .B38 1990Basso defines some of the central concerns of linguistic anthropology through the close study of Western Apache. He demonstrates how intricacies of language such as place, names, metaphor, and uses of silence, help a people define their existence.
The Labriola Center has material on American Indian language patterns, the association between language and culture, language survival, loss, and renewal.
Dictionaries and Grammar Books
The Labriola Center collects dictionaries and grammar books for a variety of Native American languages. Some of the dictionaries include native language-to-English, others English-to-native language, and some are brief vocabularies. To locate the call numbers for these volumes, search the ASU Library online catalog using the name of the language and "dictionary" as follows:
ALABAMA DICTIONARY
For grammar books, use the name of the language with "grammar" or, as a separate search, "language" as follows:
AKWESASNE MOHAWK GRAMMAR
or
CENTRAL YUPIK LANGUAGE
Some languages represented are:
Ahtna Athabaskan; Alabama; Aleut; Akwesasne Mohawk; Algonquian (Algonkin, Algonquin); Blackfoot; Cahuilla; Central Yupik (Alaska Eskimos); Cherokee; Cheyenne; Chickasaw; Chinook; Chippewa; Choctaw (Chahta); Chukchi; Comanche; Cree; Crow; Cupeño; Dakota; Delaware; Diegueno; Hopi; Hualapai; Iroquois; Kickapoo; Kiowa; Koasti; Lakota; Lushootseed (Puget Salish, Skagit-Nisqually, Snuqualmi); Menominee; Micmac; Muncey (Munsee); Navajo; Nez Perce; Nisenan (a Maidu language); North Slope Inupiaq; Nuxalk; Ojibway (Ojibwa, Ojibwe); Oneida; Papago; Passamaquoddy; Pima; Saanich, North Straits Salish; Sarcee; Siberian Yupik Eskimo
English as a Second Language (ESL)
- American Indian English by William LeapCall number: PE3102 .I55 L4 1993This pioneering work documents and examines the diversity of English in American Indian speech communities. It explores the linguistic and sociolinguistic characteristics of English language use among members of Navajo, Hopi, Ute, Tsimshian, Kotzebue, Ponca, Pima, Lakota, Cheyenne, Laguna, Santa Ana, Isleta, Chilcotin, Seminole, Cherokee, and other American Indian tribes.
- Bilingual Language Arts Materials for Native Americans: A Quantitative Review of What Exists and What is Needed, 1979-80 by Edward EvansCall number: LAB EPH EB-29Contains statistics on the amount of speakers of certain North American Indian languages, dictionaries, grammars, primary reading material, adult reading material, and ESL material.
- English as a Second Language for Navajos: An Overview of Certain Cultural and Linguistic Factors by Robert YoungCall number: PM2006 .Y6xYoung discusses culture, language, cross-cultural communication, phonology, verbs, vocabulary, word order, and parts of speech.
- Follow the Leader: English for Speakers of Other Languages by Oklahoma State Department of EducationCall number: PE1128 .A2 F6xThis guide presents methods and ideas for the implementation of the language-experience approach to reading for ESL students and includes suggested language lessons, activities, and articles.
- Studies in Southwestern Indian English by William L. LeapCall number: PE3963 .L4xWhile focusing on English spoken in Isleta, New Mexico, this collection of essays also incorporates materials and research from other tribal communities.
- Teaching English to native Navajo speakers by William KniseleyCall number: PE1130.5 .A57 K65xTeaching English provides descriptions, diagrams, and discussion of English language sounds. It includes common pronunciation and grammatical mistakes for Navajo students of English.
- Teaching English to speakers of Choctaw, Navajo, and Papago : a contrastive approach by Sirarpi Ohannessian & William W. GageCall number: PE1130.5 .A5 T42xThis volume makes available to teachers the results from a comparison of English with Choctaw, Navajo, and Papago.
Additional material can be found on the Arizona Indian Index using such key words as "Indians of North America" and "ESL" or "English as a second language."
Guides and Handbooks
- Guide to Materials for English as a Second Language by William Reich & Jennifer GageCall number: PE1128 .A2 R446xIncludes books, classroom materials, audio and visual aids, and teachers guides. Each entry identifies author, title, publisher, level of materials, skill development, and format with an index for each category.
- Guide to Publishers and Distributors Serving Minority Languages by Harpreet K. Sandhu & Laura A. BukkilaCall number: P119.315 .S26This guide provides information on minority language publications, including publisher, description of material type, grade level, content area, and language of material.
- Handbook of North American Indians by William C. SturtevantCall number: E77 .H25 v. 4-8The volumes contain sections on language organized by tribal groups within specific geographic areas. Volume 17 is devoted exclusively to Native American language and linguistics.
- Statistical Record of Native North Americans by Marlita ReddyCall number: E98 .P76 S73 REFThis extensive volume contains statistics on Native American languages and is especially thorough for Canadian tribes.
Language Tapes
- Bambi [videorecording] by Felix SaltenCall number: PN1997.5 .B36x 1989An Arapaho language version of Bambi, an animated film about a deer and how the phases of its life parallel the cycle of seasons in the forest.
- Siksikai (Blackfoot) language series by Vivian Ayoungman & Emma Lee WarriorCall number: PM2341 .S55x vol. 1-2Contains five student books, a teachers guide, a story book and audio tapes.
- Cherokee study course I & II [sound recording] by Prentice RobinsonCall number: PM782 .R6x 1988Contains one audio cassette and an accompanying booklet entitled Booklet of Beginning Cherokee Language I and II.
- Introduction to Chickasaw [sound recording] by Gregg HowardCall number: PM801 .H68x 1995Contains two audio cassettes and a workbook.
- Introduction to Choctaw [sound recording] by Charlie JonesCall number: PM872 .K57x 1993Contains two audio cassettes and an accompanying text with exercises.
- Lakota [sound recording] : a language course for beginners by Oglala Lakota CollegeCall number: PM1024 .Z9 L332x 1989Contains fifteen audio cassettes, a book, and a set of test sheets.
- Kanyen'keha Tewatati [sound recording] = Let's speak Mohawk by David Kanatawakhon MaracleCall number: PM1882 .M37x 1993Contains three audio cassettes and an accompanying text.
- Basic Medical Navajo: An Introductory Text in Communication by Alan WilsonCall number: PM2007 .W48x 1972Contains one audio cassette and one workbook.
- Breakthrough Navajo: an Introductory Course by Alan WilsonCall number: PM2007 .W5x 1969Contains two audio cassettes and one book.
- Laughter, the Navajo Way by Alan Wilson & Gene DennisonCall number: PM2007 .W55xContains one audio cassette and one book.
- Ojibwemowin [kit]: the Ojibwe Language by Judith Vollom & Thomas VollomCall number: PM851 .V64x 1994Contains a teacher's manual, workbooks, flashcards, one transparency, and audio tapes.
- Passamaquoddy by GuilfordCall number: PM2135 .P37x 1980Contains five audio cassettes, one booklet of vowel sounds, and two reference books.
- Pari Pakuru: An Introduction to Spoken Pawnee by David McNeil & Edward TennantCall number: LAB AUDIO AT-127Contains four sets of six audio cassettes with teacher's guides and transcriptions.
- Salish: Okanogan/Colville Indian Language by Andy JosephCall number: PM2066 .J67x 1994Contains two audio cassettes and a dictionary/workbook providing thirty lessons in the pronunciation and definition of words and phrases in the Okanogan/Colville Indian language.
- Beginning Tlingit by Nora DauenhauerCall number: PM2455 .D38x 1991Contains two audio cassettes and one workbook.
Linguistics
- Analytical Lexicon of Navajo by Robert W. Young & William MorganCall number: PM2007 .Y724 1992This volume presents an extensive and thorough morphology of the Navajo language.
- Comparative Vocabulary of Algonquin Dialects by John Gottlieb Ernestus HeckewelderCall number: PM605 .H4This volume features comparative vocabulary charts for English, Lenni Lenape, Minsi, Mahicanni, Natick, Chippawe, Shawana, and Nanticok dialects.
- Preliminary report on the linguistic classification of Algonquian tribes by Truman MichelsonCall number: PM600 .M5x 1913These extracts from the twenty-eighth annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology classify Algonquian languages by linguistic group. Comparative tables between the different linguistic groups are included.
- Popular Account of the Kiowa Indian Language by Parker McKenzie & John P. HarringtonCall number: PM1531 .M3The study compiles detailed discussions of phonetics, morphomatics, and lexics, as well as a brief text in Kiowa and English.
- The Semantics of Time: Aspectual Categorization in Koyukon Athabaskan by Melissa AxelrodCall number: PM1594 .A94 1993Axelrod describes in detail the Koyukon language�s complicated aspectual system with a discussion of verb theme categories and of the function of the system in discourse.
- User's handbook for the Siouan Languages Archive by David S. RoodCall number: PM2351 .R66xIncluding an index by language, this report describes the contents of the Siouan Languages Archive.
Sign Language
- Do You See What I Mean?: Plains Indian Sign Talk and the Embodiment of Action by Brenda FarnellCall number: E98 .S5 F37 1995An ethnographic study of the contemporary use of Plains Indian Sign Talk (PST) in Assinboine (Nakota) storytelling.
- Indian Signals and Sign Language by George Fronval & Daniel DuboisCall number: E98 .S5 F7613 1994This volume describes how to perform 800 Plains Indian signs and includes hundreds of color photographs of people demonstrating signs.
- Indian Sign Language by William Philo 'WP' ClarkCall number: E98 .S5 C59 1982This work, commissioned by the U.S. Army, was produced in 1885 by Cavalry Officer William Clark after his six years of observation of the language.
- North American Indian Sign Language by Karen LiptakCall number: E98 .S5 L57 1990Designed for a younger audience, this book includes drawings and instructions for how to perform signs for family, weather, seasons, food, animals, and more.
- Universal Indian Sign Language of the Plains Indians of North America by William TomkinsCall number: E98 .S5 T7 1929This volume contains a list of basic vocabulary words, a codification of pictographic symbols of the Sioux and Ojibway, a dictionary of synonyms, and a brief history of sign language.
- Last updated: Feb 14, 2024 5:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/LabriolaCenter
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
