Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Online Resources

Irving S Gilmore Music Library

The Irving S. Gilmore Music Library at Yale University is one of the largest collections of music scores, sound recordings, and music research materials in the United States. As such, the Music Library reflects the centrality of musical performance and scholarship to the University throughout its history.

Classical Music

Gray, Anne. The World of Women in Classical Music. La Jolla, Calif. : WordWorld, c2007.

MUSIC STACKS  ML82.G73 2007

This book covers female classical composers, musicians, singers, and conductors.

 

Griffiths, Paul. The Penguin Companion to Classical Music. London, New York: Penguin Books, 2004.

MUSIC STACKS  ML105.G85 2004

This book is a bio-bibliography that also includes a dictionary with classical music terms.

 

Kramer, Lawrence. Why Classical Music Still Matters. Berkeley: University of California Press, c2007.

MUSIC STACKS  ML3800.K72 2007

This book is an overview of classical music and its values.

 

Morin, Alexander and Schonberg, Harold C. Classical Music: The Listener's Companion. San Francisco, CA : Backbeat Books ; Berkeley, CA : Distributed to the book trade in the U.S. and Canada by Publishers Group West ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed to the music trade in the U.S. and Canada by Hal Leonard Publishing, c2002.

MUSIC STACKS  ML156.9.C58 2002

This companion to classical music includes bibliographic materials, discographies, and an index.

   

Stevens, Lewis. Composers of Classical Music of Jewish Descent. London, Portland, OR. : Vallentine Mitchell, 2003.

MUSIC STACKS  ML390.S825 2003

This book is a biography of classical composers of Jewish descent. It includes bibliographic materials and an index.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.