Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Brass Ensembles

Anderson, Paul G. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist, 1987.

ML128 .W5 A57 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing of works for brass chamber groups, brass ensembles with various accompanying groups, and ensembles combining brass with other instruments. The listing is by combinations of instruments, with composer index. Originally intended as a guide to available material, but now dated.

 

Anderson, Paul G. Brass Music Guide: Solo and Study Material in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist, 1985.

ML128 .W5 A6x 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing taken from publishers' catalogs of study material and solos for all brass instruments. Includes composer index and key to publishers.

 

Decker, Richard G. Bibliography of Music for Three Heterogeneous Brass Instruments Alone and in Chamber Ensembles. Oneonta, NY: Swift-Dorr, 1976.
ML128 .W5 D4 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

A selected listing of primarily 20th century music for combinations of three brass instruments in ensemble alone, and with piano, organ, larger chamber ensembles, and small orchestra. Includes originals and transcriptions, published and unpublished works.

 

Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990.
ML128 .W5 F3 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

A comprehensive bibliography of over 6,000 books, articles and dissertations covering all aspects of brass instruments. Divided into four general categories: Reference and Research Materials; History and Music Literature; Pedagogy, Study and Technique; Acoustics and Construction. Thorough indexing.

 

Haug, Hermann. Bibliography and Discography on Music for Solo Wind Instruments and Orchestra. Weisbaden: Breitkopf & Hartel, Musica Rara, 2004.

ML128 .W5 H38 2004 MUSIC REFERENCE


Three volume set in English and German: volume 1 includes recorder and flute music, volume 2 has oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and saxophone, and volume 3 includes trumpet, horn, trombone, and tuba. Each volume has a user's guide, music for each instrument listed alphabetically by composer, discographies, ensemble listings, a composer index, and publisher information.

 

Heller, George N. Ensemble Music for Wind and Percussion Instruments: A Catalog. Washington, D.C.: Music Educators National Conference, 1970.

ML128 .W5 H4 MUSIC REFERENCE

A graded listing of ensemble literature for a wide variety of instrumental combinations. Limited bibliographic information.

 

Horne, Aaron. Brass Music of Black Composers: a Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.

ML128 .W5 H62 1996 MUSIC REFERENCE


Includes biographical and bibliographical entries on composers of African ancestry, as well as a brass music index, title index, discography, and bibliography.

 

Skei, Allen B. Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion Instruments of the Orchestra: A Bibliographic Guide. New York: Garland, 1985.

ML128 .W5 S6 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selected bibliography of books, articles, and dissertations on the wind and percussion instruments of the classical orchestra. The focus is on the nature and historical development of the instruments, but includes performers and performance practice. Includes author and subject indexes.

 

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.