Skip to main content

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Bibliography & Biography

 

Dubal, David. The Art of the Piano: Its Performers, Literature, and Recordings. New York: Summit Books, 1989.

ML105 .D8 1989 MUSIC REFERENCE


A general account of pianists and piano literature. The first section contains biographical material on history's best-known concert pianists. The second section lists significant works in the piano literature, both solo and concerto, with a brief discussion of each composition. The author also includes recordings which he considers exceptional. Includes a thorough index.

Gillespie, John. A Bibliography of Nineteenth-Century American Piano Music. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984.

ML128 .P3 G54 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE


A select bibliography of available American piano music from the late 18th century into the 20th century. Includes both "serious" and "salon" music. All items in the bibliography are supposedly available via xerox or microfilm copy from the holding libraries. The main bibliography includes sections on solo literature, piano duets, two pianos, and piano with orchestra. It is arranged alphabetically by composer with title of composition, publisher information, holding library with catalog number, and occasional annotations. Also, it contains a substantial section of composer biographies as well as appropriate appendixes of abbreviations.

Guide de la musique de piano et de clavecin. Paris: Fayard, 1987.

ML128 .P3 G85x 1987 MUSIC STACKS


A descriptive guide to piano literature. Includes a brief biographical sketch of each composer and a thorough description of each work. In French.

Hinson, Maurice. The Pianist's Reference Guide: A Bibliographical Survey. Los Angeles: Alfred Publishing Co., 1987.

ML128 .P3 H54 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of about 1000 books, theses and dissertations related to the piano, piano literature, and its performance. Listed alphabetically by author with standard bibliographic information and brief annotations. Access to the main listing is through a wide range of subject and composer indexes.

Kehler, George. The Piano in Concert. 2 vol. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1982.

ML105 .K43 MUSIC REFERENCE


The work lists around two thousand pianists, primarily of the 19th and 20th centuries. Entries are alphabetical and include a brief biographical sketch, a list of programs played, and bibliographical citations for published reviews of the programs. It also includes a brief history of the piano concert/recital.

Lyle, Wilson. A Dictionary of Pianists. London: R. Hale, 1985.

ML105 .L9 1985b MUSIC REFERENCE


A biographical dictionary of over 4,000 professional pianists, covering a period of around 200 years. Entries include lists of pupils and some recording information. An appendix lists winners of international piano competitions and medallists of conservatories and schools.

Meggett, Joan M. Keyboard Music by Women Composers: A Catalog and Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1981.

ML128 .H35 M43 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive catalog of works by and about 290 women composers from the 17th to the 20th centuries. The main body of the volume lists composers alphabetically and includes brief biographical information, major fields of composition, all keyboard music composed, selected writings, and a bibliography of books and articles about the composer. It also contains an extensive list of sources, and 5 appendixes, including a supplementary listing and discography. This work includes compositions for harpsichord and organ, as well as the piano.

Palmieri, Robert. Piano Information Guide: An Aid to Research. New York: Garland, 1989.

ML128 .P3 P34 1989 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of books and articles on the piano and piano music. The first section covers the instrument and includes encyclopedias and dictionaries, historical studies, and works on construction and manufacturing. The second section is devoted to piano music and also includes historical studies as well as the music of specific composers. Thorough indexing.

Phemister, William. American Piano Concertos: A Bibliography. Detroit: Published for the College Music Society, Information Coordinators, 1985.

ML128 .P3 P5 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of 1123 concertos by 801 composers in both published and manuscript form. It is arranged alphabetically by composer. Entries include composer's name and dates, nationality (includes some foreign-born composers), title, title and/or tempo of each movement, publisher or manuscript, date of composition, duration, orchestration, first performance, recordings, reviews of performances or recording, and principal sources of information.

Rezits, Joseph. The Pianist's Resource Guide: Piano Music in Print and Literature on the Pianistic Art, 1978-79. Park Ridge, IL: Pallma Music Co., 1978.

ML128 .P3 R5 1978 MUSIC REFERENCE


Because of the age of this work it is no longer reliable as a resource for in-print information. The bibliography of literature on the piano is limited to books published in English and includes over 2300 works. This section is divided into 4 parts. The author index includes all pertinent bibliographic information, as well as library locations. There is a title index and 2 classification indexes, one general and one more specific. Also includes an annotated guide to 118 books selected and evaluated by the author.

Schulz, Ferdinand F. Pianographie. 2nd ed. Recklinghausen: Piano-Verlag, 1982.

ML128 .P3 S38 1982 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of literature on the piano, including sections on the works of specific composers, general history and guides, styles and forms, piano playing, pianists, piano making, and periodicals devoted to the piano. The work includes a large number of dissertations, particularly German and American. This second edition nearly triples the size of the first edition with around 2400 entries. Includes sections of publishers' and libraries' addresses, plus composer and author indexes.

 

 

 

Hours and Locations