Music - Subject Guides

Rhodes University: International Library of African Music

A research institution devoted to the study of music and oral arts in Africa, it preserves thousands of historical recordings going back to 1929 and supports contemporary fieldwork. It is currently digitizing its collections. Its journal, African Music, is nearly into its fourth decade.

Agawu, V. Kofi. Representing African Music: Postcolonial Notes, Queries, Positions. New York : Routledge, 2003.

This book discusses the impact of colonialism on African music and how to not analyze African music. It also includes an index and bibliographical references.

MUSIC STACKS  ML350.A355 2003

Barlow, Sean. Afropop!: An Illustrated Guide to Contemporary African Music. Edison, N.J. : Chartwell Books, c1995.

This resource includes bibliographical resources, a discography, and an index.

MUSIC STACKS  ML3502.9.B37 1995

Graham, Ronnie. The World of African Music. London : Pluto Press ; Chicago : Research Associates ; Chicago : Distributed in the U.S.A. by Frontline Dist. Int'l, 1992.

MUSIC STACKS  ML3502.5.G73 1992

Kubik, Gergard. Theory of African Music. Wilhelmshaven: F.Noetzel, c1994.

MUSIC STACKS  ML350.K83x 1994 v.1

Library of Congress, Music Divison and Thieme, Darius L. African Music: A Briefly Annotated Bibliography. Washington, 1964.

MUSIC STACKS  ML120.A35 U5 

Muller, Carol Ann. South African Music: A Century of Traditions in Transformation. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2004.

DOWNTOWN STACKS  ML350.M85 2004

Stone, Ruth M. The Garland Handbook of African Music. New York: Garland, 2000.

This book is an introduction to African music, including an overview of the subject, a discography, filmography, bibliography, and index.

MUSIC STACKS  ML350.G54 2000

Tchebwa, Manda. African Music: New Challenges, New Vocations. Paris : UNESCO, 2005.

This book about African music includes a bibliography and a discography of traditional African music.

MUSIC STACKS  ML350.T35 2005

Thorsen, Stig-Magnus. Sounds of Change: Social and Political Features of Music in Africa. [Stockholm : Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency, 2004]

MUSIC STACKS  ML3917.A4 S68 2004