Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Clarinet

Brixel, Eugen. Klarinetten-Bibliographie. Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1978- 1. Aufl.

ML128 .C58 B74 V.  MUSIC REFERENCE

A listing of repertoire for the clarinet as solo instrument, in ensemble and with orchestra. Divided into sections according to instrumentation. Bibliographic information limited to composer, title and publisher. Preface in German.

Brymer, Jack. Clarinet. New York: Schirmer Books, 1976.

ML945 .B8 1977 MUSIC STACKS


This book examines the history, development, acoustic characteristics, playing approaches, and teaching approaches of the clarinet. Includes clarinet repertoire and discography.

The Clarinet. Pullman, Wash.: International Clarinet Society, 1973.

ML1 .C787 PERIODICALS


The official magazine of the International Clarinet Society, this quarterly contains articles, profiles, columns, information on conferences and workshops, and master classes.

Errante, F. Gerard. Selective Clarinet Bibliography. Oneonta, NY: Swift-Dorr Publications, 1973.

ML128 .C58 E77 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of literature about the clarinet. Includes books, periodicals, articles, theses and dissertations covering every aspect of the instrument, including history and performance, acoustics, pedagogy, reeds and mouthpieces, instrument manufacture, and repair.

Gee, Harry. Clarinet Solos de Concours, 1897-1980: An Annotated Bibliography. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1981.

ML128 .C58 G43 MUSIC REFERENCE


A history and bibliography of the solo literature for clarinet commissioned for the Paris Conservatory's annual competition exams from 1897 to 1980. Each entry is thoroughly annotated, with information about the composer and description of the piece.

Gibson, O. Lee. Clarinet Acoustics. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1994.

ML946 .G5 1994 MUSIC STACKS


Gillespie, James E. Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Works. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1973.

ML128 .C58 G54 MUSIC REFERENCE


A thoroughly annotated and fully cited listing of primarily 20th century works for unaccompanied clarinet. Availability at time of publication a major criterion for inclusion. Includes brief discography.

International Clarinet Society. Research Center. Catalog of the International Clarinet Society Score Collection. College Park: University of Maryland, 1982.

ML136 .A1 I6 1982 MUSIC REFERENCE

A catalog of the holdings of the International Clarinet Society Research Center at the University of Maryland, College Park. The main listing is alphabetical by composer. Also includes instrumentation index.

Opperman, Kalmen. Repertory of the Clarinet. New York: Colombo, 1960.

ML128 .C58 O66 1960 MUSIC REFERENCE


A standard listing of clarinet literature, including texts and methods, orchestral studies, and solo and ensemble repertory. Somewhat dated.

Rendall, F. Geoffrey. The Clarinet; Some Notes on Its History and Construction. New York: W. W. Norton, 1971.

ML946 .R4 1971 MUSIC STACKS


Stein, Keith. The Art of Clarinet Playing. Princeton, N. J.: Summy-Birchard, 1958.

MT380 .S84x MUSIC STACKS


Thurston, Frederick. Clarinet Technique. New York: Oxford University Press, 1977.

MT380 .T5x 1977 MUSIC STACKS


Aspects of clarinet technique, including tone, breath control, finger exercises, scales, arpeggios, staccato, technical studies, and technical studies are examined. Appendixes cover instrument purchase and care, choice of mouthpiece and reeds, preparing for performances, and a list of music for the clarinet.

Wilkins, Wayne. Index of Clarinet Music. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1975.

ML128 .C58 W55x MUSIC REFERENCE

A limited work listing composer, title and publisher only of solo and ensemble literature for the clarinet.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.