Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Kaiser, Rolf.  Gitarrenlexikon. Reinbek bei Hamburg: Rowohlt, 1987.

ML102 .G9 K13x 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


Guitar dictionary written in German that includes terms in many languages. Includes many useful illustrations and figures.

 

Sadie, Stanley and John Tyrrell (eds). The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. London: Macmillan Publishers, 2001.

ML100 .N48 2001 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

This is the largest comprehensive music encyclopedia in English as well as the standard reference source for most music scholarship. The volumes are divided alphabetically by subject, with cross-references and include an index volume after 'Z'. Includes detailed information on guitar history and repertory, as well as various composers and performers by name.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.