Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Repertoire Guides

 

Butler, Stanley. Guide to the Best in Contemporary Piano Music: Annotated List of Graded Solo Piano Music Published Since 1950. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1973.

ML132 .P3 B88 MUSIC REFERENCE


A graded list of approximately 825 contemporary works for the piano, excluding works for prepared piano. Both volumes are arranged by level of difficulty. Each entry contains standard bibliographic information plus a description of the work. Each volume contains indexes to composers and compositions, and to musical and pianistic features.

Chang, Frederic Ming. Team Piano Repertoire: A Manual of Music for Multiple Players at One or More Pianos. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1976.

ML128 .P3 C48 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of published music for multiple players at one or more pianos, arranged in alphabetical sections according to the number of players and instruments. Each entry contains a brief description, difficulty grading, and publication information. Also contains sections on arrangements and transcriptions, without description, and recordings. Does not include literature of duet music for children, teaching, or solo concertos with orchestra reduction.

Faurot, Albert. Concert Piano Repertoire: A Manual of Solo Literature for Artists and Performers. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1974.

ML128 .P3 F39 MUSIC REFERENCE


An annotated list of solo piano literature. Overshadowed by more recent and extensive bibliographies.

Hinson, Maurice. Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1973. Also supplement, 1979.

ML128 .P3 Hfx MUSIC REFERENCE


First edition and supplement of basic repertoire guide. Enlarged and updated in 2nd edition (see below).

Hinson, Maurice. Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire. 2nd ed., rev. and enl. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1987.

ML128 .P3 H5 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A guide to solo piano literature from 1700 to the present. Covers standard composers thoroughly and introduces contemporary composers of merit. The main section covers individual composers and their works in various editions and reproductions. A shorter second section lists anthologies and collections, both general and specific by country. Individual entries contain biographical and/or stylistic comments, general description of the work, grading of level of difficulty, and other pertinent information on editions, date of composition, etc. This work also contains many useful and interesting appendixes and indexes.

Hinson, Maurice. Music for More than One Piano: An Annotated Guide. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1983.

ML128 .P3 H52 1983 MUSIC REFERENCE

A guide to the literature for multiple pianos, including works for two or more pianos with other instruments, tape, and multiple performers. Main section arranged alphabetically by composer. Entries include title, publisher information, date, and frequently performance time. Each entry has a brief description and is graded as to difficulty.

Hinson, Maurice. Music for Piano and Orchestra: An Annotated Guide. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1981.

ML128 .P3 H53 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliographic guide to music for the piano and more than eight instruments. Covers the period from 1700 to the present and includes standard composers as well as contemporary composers of merit. Most works are for solo piano, but does include some chamber-like pieces. Main arrangement is alphabetical by composer. Each entry includes the title, publishing information, date, description of the work, and grade of difficulty. Some entries include biographical or stylistic comments after the composer's name. Includes annotated bibliography and indexes to various combinations of instruments.

Hinson, Maurice. The Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1978.

ML128 .C4 H5 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliographic guide to music for the piano and no more than 8 instruments. Covers the period from 1700 to the present, and includes standard composers as well as contemporary composers of merit, especially United States composers. Includes only works that involve the piano on an equal basis. The guide is arranged by numbers of instruments, i.e. duos, trios, quartets, etc. Within each category the arrangement is alphabetical by composer and includes title, publishing information, date, description of the work, and grade of difficulty. Includes annotated bibliography and composer index.

McGraw, Cameron. Piano Duet Repertoire: Music Originally Written for One Piano, Four Hands. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1981.

ML128 .P3 M2 MUSIC REFERENCE


Comprehensive listing of literature for piano duet, covering all periods. Arranged alphabetically by composer with brief identification for most. Entries include title, key signatures, opus numbers, date of composition, publisher, location of manuscript when possible, and descriptive comments including approximate level of difficulty. Includes indexes of music publishers and library locations.

Thematic Guide to Piano Literature: An Easy-to-Use Reference that Identifies and Specifies Grade Levels of Solo Piano Works. 5 vols. New York: G. Schirmer, 1982- .

ML132 .P3 T47x MUSIC REFERENCE


A graded thematic guide to the standard piano literature. Vol. 1 contains easy pieces of Bach and Handel, sonatinas of various composers, and sonatas of Haydn; vol. 2 works of Mozart and Beethoven; vol. 3 of Chopin and Mendelssohn; vol. 4 of Schubert and Schumann; vol. 5 of Franz Liszt. Each composer is treated extensively but not comprehensively. Contains various grading charts in addition to the main thematic sections.

 

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.