Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Online Banjo Resources

International Bluegrass Museum

This site is a great resource for bluegrass music, including music, history, collections, video oral history project, and RBI: Radio Bluegrass International.

The Banjo Hangout

This online community offers free online banjo resources including forums, reviews, tabs, audio, and videos.

Banjo

Carlin, Bob. The Birth of the Banjo: Joel Walker Sweeny and Early Minstrelsy. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2007.

MUSIC STACKS  ML419.S93 C37 2007

A professional banjo player, Joel Sweeney introduced mainstream America to a music. Beginning with the banjo's introduction to America and Great Britain, the book provides an overview of early banjo music. An appendix contains a performance chronology.

 

Conway, Cecelia. African Banjo Echoes in Appalachia: a study of folk traditions. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1995.

MUSIC STACKS  ML3556.C667 1995

This resource is part of the publications of the American folklore society series. The book includes bibliographical references (p. [359]-368) and indexes.

 

Heier, Uli and Rainer, Lotz E. The Banjo on Record : a bio-discography. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.

MUSIC REFERENCE  ML156.4.B36 1993

 Includes bibliographical references (p. [561]-566) and index.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.