Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Bibliographies

Gillis, Frank and Merriam, Alan P (comp). Ethnomusicology and folk music: an international bibliography of dissertations and theses. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press, 1966.
ML128 .E8 G5 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

An annotated bibliography of 897 dissertations and theses arranged by author, title, institution, degree, and date. Subjects and institutions are indexed. A number of areas, including jazz, the sociology and psychology of music, and computers in music research are included. Dissertations available through University Microfilm include the annual volume and page number from their "Dissertation Abstracts."

 

Schuursma, Ann Briegleb. Ethnomusicology Research: A Select Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1992.

ML128 .E8 S4 1991 MUSIC REFERENCE


An annotated bibliography of ethnomusicological literature published after 1960. It covers topics such as fieldwork, history of ethnomusicology, theory and method, and analysis. Name and subject indexes are provided.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.