Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Double Bass Online Resources

The Orchestra: A User's Manual

This section of the site is devoted to the double bass and includes helpful information and links.

 

University of Miami Library: Double Bass Streaming Music Site

The University of Miami School of Music, the Marta and Austin Weeks Music Library and the International Archive of Double Bass Recordings are pleased to announce a selection of Double Bass MP3 sound files on its website. More than 25 solo double bassists with orchestra or piano will be heard from the archive's CD collection.

Double Bass

Elgar, Raymond. Introduction to Double Bass. Sussex, 1960, [i.e.] 1971.

MUSIC STACKS  ML920.E4 1971

This work is a discography of double bass music.

 

Elgar, Raymond. More About the Double Bass. St. Leonards-on-Sea, Eng., 1963, [i.e.] 1969.

MUSIC STACKS  ML920.E42 1969

This work is a bibliography of double bass music.

  

Planyavsky, Alfred. The Baroque Double Bass Violone. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998.

MUSIC STACKS  ML927.V63 P613 1993

This book about the history of the double bass includes bibliographic references and an index.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.