Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Discographies

Bibliography of Discographies. 3 vols. New York: Bowker, 1977-1983.

ML156.2 .B49 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of discographies of jazz, blues, ragtime, gospel, and rhythm and blues covering the years 1935 to 1980. The main section is arranged alphabetically by personal names and other subjects, with an index of authors, editors, and titles. Also includes list of periodicals cited.

 

Cooper, David Edwin. International Bibliography of Discographies: Classical Music and Jazz & Blues, 1962-1972. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1975.

ML113 .C655 I6 MUSIC REFERENCE


About one half of this work is devoted to the subject of jazz and blues. There are several sections which list general guides, buyer's guides, and subjects, as well as chronological listings. A separate section covers jazz and blues performer discography. Includes a summary of national discographies, catalogs, and major review sources. Thorough indexing.

 

Erlewine, Michael. All Music Guide to Jazz: the Experts' Guide to the Best Jazz Recordings. San Francisco: Miller Freeman Books, 1998.

ML156.4 .J3 A45x 1998 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

Contains reviews  and ratings of over 18,000 jazz recordings.  Also includes profiles of over 1,700 musicians.

 

Harrison, Max. Essential Jazz Records. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1984.

ML 156.4 .J3 H33 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selective listing of mostly 78 rpm recordings, with emphasis on the 1920's and 1930's. Includes a preliminary chapter on the origins of jazz, and also chapters on jazz in Europe and it's influence on European composers. Includes indexes of LP titles, tune titles, and musicians.

 

Leder, Jan. Women in Jazz: A Discography of Instrumental Music 1913-1968. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1985.

ML156.4 .J3 L44 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


An attempt at a comprehensive listing of recordings made by women jazz instrumentalists, covering the period of 1913 to 1968. Includes 250 players, of which 120 are pianists. The main listing is alphabetical by performer, with recordings listed chronologically. A shorter second section is a chronological listing of recordings with two or more women players. Includes name index.

 

The Rolling Stone Jazz and Blues Guide. New York: Random House, 1999.

ML156.4 .J3 R65 1999 MUSIC REFERENCE


A discography of jazz and blues, arranged alphabetically by artist or band name. Each entry includes a chronological listing of albums by release date, a star-review for each album, and a brief biographical entry. An anthology section and record label contact information are also included.

 

Rust, Brian A.L. Jazz Records, 1897-1942. 2 vols. Chigwell, Essex, Eng.: Storyville Publications, 1982.

ML156.4 .J3 R9 1982 MUSIC REFERENCE


A major discography of jazz, ragtime, and swing recordings made during the years covered. Arranged alphabetically by individual performers and groups, with the records identified by titles and matrix numbers. Includes thorough artist and title indexing.

 

Stagg, Tom. New Orleans, the Revival: A Tape and Discography of Negro Traditional Jazz Recorded in New Orleans or by New Orleans Bands, 1937-1972. Dublin: Bashall Eaves Publication, 1973.

ML156.4 .J3 S8 MUSIC REFERENCE



The discography attempts to list all issued recordings as well as party and private sessions. Arranged alphabetically by musician or group. Thorough indexing.



Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.