Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Flute

Boenke, Heidi M. Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. New York: Greenwood, 1988.

ML128 .F7 B6 1988 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive catalog of music by women composers for solo flute or flute in ensemble. Includes compositions from over 40 countries and covering three centuries. Thoroughness of entries and annotations dependent on information available. Main listing alphabetical by composer. Includes title and instrumentation indexes.

McGinnis & Marx Music Dealers. Music for the Flute: A Complete Catalogue. New York, 1969.

ML128 .F7 M18 1969 MUSIC REFERENCE


Originally intended as a catalog of flute music available for purchase. Because of its date it is no longer useful for that purpose, but can be used as a partial guide to flute repertoire.

McGowan, Richard A. Italian Baroque Solo Sonatas for the Recorder and the Flute. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1978.

ML128 .F7 M2 MUSIC REFERENCE


A highly specialized bibliography of baroque solo sonatas by Italian composers, restricted to works that are specifically intended for recorder or flute. The first part lists and describes 18th century editions and manuscripts, the second contains modern editions.

Miller, Dayton Clarence. Catalogue of Books and Literary Material Relating to the Flute and Other Musical Instruments. 1935. Reprint. St. Clair Shores, MI: Scholarly, 1978.

ML128 .F7 M44 1978 MUSIC REFERENCE

An historical bibliography of literature on the flute.

National Flute Association. Music Library. Music Library Catalog. Tucson, AZ: The Association, 1989.

ML128 .F7 N37 1989 MUSIC REFERENCE


An alphabetical listing by composer of the holdings of the National Flute Association collection at the University of Arizona, Tucson. Also contains an index by medium of performance. This material is available through interlibrary loan or direct loan procedures.

Pellerite, James J. Handbook of Literature for the Flute: Compilation of Graded Method Materials, Solos, and Ensemble Music for Flutes. Rev. 3rd ed. Bloomington, IN: Zalo Publications, 1978.

ML128 .F7 P4 1978 MUSIC REFERENCE


An annotated, graded listing of literature for flute, piccolo, alto and bass flutes. Arranged in sub-sections of exercises, solos, duets, trios, etc. for each instrument and graded from I-IX. Includes index of authors and composers.

Pierreuse, Bernard. Flute Litterature: Catalog General des Oeuvres Editees et Inedites par Formations Instrumentales = General Catalog of Published and Unpublished Works by Instrumental Category. Paris: Societe des Editions Jobert, 1982.

ML128 .F7 P5x MUSIC REFERENCE


A catalog of literature for the flute as solo instrument and in ensemble. Divided into lists of instrumental groupings up to thirteen and works with orchestra. Includes composer index and keys to publishers and libraries.

Vester, Frans. Flute Music of the 18th Century: An Annotated Bibliography. 1st ed. Monteux, France: Musica Rara, 1985.

ML128 .F7 V46 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of flute music of the 18th and early 19th centuries, including old editions and manuscripts, as well as modern editions. The major section is an alphabetical listing by composer, with standard bibliographic information. A second section is an index of works grouped systematically according to instrumentation.

Vester, Frans. Flute Repertoire Catalogue: 10,000 Titles. London: Musica Rara, 1967.

ML128 .F7 V48 MUSIC REFERENCE


A basic listing of solo and ensemble flute repertoire. The main section includes instrumental works listed alphabetically by composer, then by instrumental combinations. Also includes shorter sections of works including vocal parts, studies and methods, and a bibliography of literature on the flute.

Wilkins, Wayne. Index of Flute Music, Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1974.

ML128 .F6 W5x MUSIC REFERENCE


A limited work listing composer, title and publisher only of solo and ensemble literature for the flute.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.