Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Bibliographies

Gray, John. Fire Music: a Bibliography of the New Jazz, 1959-1990. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.

ML128 .J3 G7 1991 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive bibliography covering African-American "Free Jazz" beginning in 1959. Organized into six sections, including a chronology, African-American cultural history and art, general works and studies of New Jazz, jazz collectives and cooperative record labels, jazz lofts, and biographical and critical studies of artists and ensembles. Appendices include reference works, archives and research centers with large jazz collections, and listings of jazz artists.

 

Carl Gregor, Duke of Mecklenburg. International Bibliography of Jazz Books. Baden-Baden: Koerner, 1983.

ML128 .J3 C4 1983 MUSIC REFERENCE


A revised and expanded edition of International Jazz Bibliography and its supplements. The coverage is international, with the first volume including material published from 1921-1949, the second 1950-1959. Further volumes are projected for the 1960's and 1970's. Includes keyword and name indexes.

 

Carl Gregor, Duke of Mecklenburg. International Jazz Bibliography: Jazz Books from 1919 to 1968. Strasbourg: Heitz, 1969.

ML128 .J3 C4 MUSIC REFERENCE


Carl Gregor, Duke of Mecklenburg. 1971/72/73 Supplement to International Jazz Bibliography. Graz: Universal Edition, 1975.

ML128 .J3 C412x MUSIC REFERENCE


Hefele, Bernhard. Jazz-bibliography: International Literature on Jazz, Blues, Spirituals, Gospel and Ragtime Music. Munchen; New York: Saur, 1981.

ML128 .J3 H46x MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography listing over 6600 publications on jazz, blues, spirituals and gospel music, as well as selected literature on the background and origin of the music. The coverage is international, dating from 1836 for background material, and 1917 for the music. The bibliography is divided into 28 subject areas, with an index of personal names. Contents and introduction in both English and German.

 

Kennington, Donald. Literature of Jazz: A Critical Guide. 2nd ed. rev. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980.

ML128 .J3 K45 1980 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selective guide to English language material to the end of 1979. Divided into 9 separate chapters covering general background, blues, history, biography, analysis and theory, reference sources, jazz education, jazz in literature, and jazz periodicals. Each chapter contains a substantial essay on the subject and bibliographic listings.

 

Meadows, Eddie S. Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy: a Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2006.

ML128 .J3 M34 2005 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliographic survey of books on jazz and jazz musicians from the 1920s through 2004. The first section is divided by genre (general, pre-swing, swing, bop, and modern). The second section lists reference materials, including bibliographies, encyclopedias and dictionaries, biographies, discographies, technical materials and anthologies. All entries in this section include brief annotations. Includes separate indexes to both sections.

 

Meeker, David. Jazz in the Movies. New York: Da Capo, 1982.

ML128 .M7 M38 1982 MUSIC REFERENCE


An alphabetical listing of films and television shows or series in which jazz figures prominently. Each entry contains the original title, reissue or working title, country of origin, director or producer, and running time or number of segments. Most entries contain brief annotations. Includes index of names.

 

Newport Jazz Festival, Rhode Island, 1954-1971: A Bibliography, Discography, and Filmography. Providence, RI: Agostinelli, 1977.

ML128 .J3 A33 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selective list of books, journal, and newspaper articles, recordings, and films connected with the Newport Jazz Festival. The articles are arranged by year of publication, the other listings are alphabetical by main performer or title.



Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.