Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Percussion

Bajzek, Dieter. Percussion: An Annotated Bibliography with Special Emphasis on Contemporary Notation and Performance. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1988.

ML128 .P23 B34 1988 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of over 1400 journal articles, books, and dissertations covering all aspects of percussion music, instruments, instrumental techniques and research. Includes primarily English language materials published since the late 1960's. Most entries are annotated.

 

Barnhart, Stephen L. Percussionists: a Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000.

ML399 .B38 2000 MUSIC REFERENCE


Each biographical entry includes brief bibliographies, discographies and videographies when available. Organized alphabetically, includes appendix of musicians not included in the main work, bibliography, and index.

 

Beck, John H. Encyclopedia of Percussion. New York: Garland Publications, 1995.

ML102 .P4 E5 1995 MUSIC REFERENCE


An alphabetical listing of percussion instruments and terms, includes illustrations, articles, symbol, mallet instruments, a table of percussion instruments and terms in other languages, and an appendix on published writings on percussion methods.

 

Larrick, Geary. A Percussionist's Guide to Music: Bibliographic Essays. Lewiston, NY: Edwin Mellen Press, 2002.

ML128 .P23 L37 2002 MUSIC REFERENCE


Collection of short bibliographic essays on a variety of topics related to percussion. Includes a short bibliography and index.

 

Meza, Fernando A. Percussion Discography: An International Compilation of Solo and Chamber Percussion Music. New York: Greenwood, 1990.

ML156.4 .P4 M5 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


A discography of LPs, CDs, and cassettes in which percussion instruments are featured as solo instruments or part of a chamber ensemble. Excludes jazz, traditional, or ethnic music.

 

Solo and Ensemble Literature for Percussion. Terre Haute, IN: Percussive Arts Society, 1978.

ML128 .P23 S6x 1978 MUSIC REFERENCE


Arrangement by instrumentation. Includes only composer, title, publisher, and number of players required.

 

Siwe, Thomas. Percussion Solo Literature. Champaign, IL: Media Press, 1995.
ML128 .P23 S63 1995 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

Catalog of solo percussion music. Organized by composer's last name, also by instrument. Each entry includes title, instrumentation, and publisher. Includes publisher addresses.

 

Vincent, David W. Percussionist's Guide to Orchestral Excerpts. Columbia, SC: Broad River Press, 1980.

ML128 .P23 V5 MUSIC REFERENCE


A guide to excerpts contained in 41 volumes and two record sets.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.