Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Online Resources

International Harp Archives

This resource is the International Harp Archives at Brigham Young University. The site includes access to the BYU catalog for searching about harp and other music, a harp music of the 18th and 19th century wiki and database, which includes access to public domain harp music, and a collection of finding aids. Users can also request reproductions (for a fee) and this library is also an American Harp Association lending library for those that are members.

 

Sibley Music Library Special Collections: The Harp

The Sibley Music Library at the University of Rochester has a section in the rare books and music collection dedicated to the harp. This list includes all harp resources available within the special collection, including cataloged items in the rare books collection, the Lucile Johnson Rosenbloom Collection of printed music and manuscripts, the Nan Gullo collection, and the Henry B. Neejer collection.  

 

The Orchestra: A User's Guide

This online resource offers links and information regarding the harp.

Harp

Rensch, Roslyn. The Harp, from Tara's halls to the American schools. New York: Philosophical Library, 1950.

MUSIC STACKS  ML1005.R4

This book covers the history of the harp in ancient times, the movement of the harp into Europe, the pedal harp, a selected bibliography and index, and selected composers, compositions, and recordings for the harp.

 

Schechter, John Mendell. The Indispensable Harp : Historical Development, Modern Roles, Configurations, and Performance Practices in Ecuador and Latin America. Kent, Ohio: Kent State University Press, 1992.

MUSIC STACKS  ML1005.S26 1992

Includes bibliographical references (p. 270-281) and index.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.