Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Popular Song Lists

ASCAP Hit Songs.

ML128 .S3 A6x MUSIC REFERENCE


Lists popular hit songs by year, 1892-1976. Also includes list of Oscar-winning songs. Title index.

Brooks, Alston. I've Heard Those Songs Before. New York: Morrow Quill Paperbacks, 1981.

ML128 .V7 B78 MUSIC REFERENCE


A title listing, by week, of the top ten songs from 1930 to 1980. Index includes number of weeks listed.

Cooper, B. Lee. Resource Guide to Themes in Contemporary American Song Lyrics, 1950-1985. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.

ML156.4 .P6 C66 1986 MUSIC REFERENCE


A subject guide to the lyrics of 3000 American popular songs released on commercial recordings between 1950 and 1985. The guide is organized in 15 major social, political and personal themes. Includes selected discography and bibliography. Indexes by song title and recording artist.

80 Years of American Song Hits 1892-1972. New York: Chappell, 1973.

ML128 .V7 E43 MUSIC REFERENCE


Lists popular songs by year. No index.

Jacobs, Dick. Who Wrote That Song? White Hall, VA: Betterway Publications, 1988.

ML120 .U5 J23 1988 MUSIC REFERENCE

A listing of popular songs by title with composer, lyricist, date and most prominent performer. Includes separate listing of songwriters and their songs.

Lax, Roger. Great Song Thesaurus. New York: Oxford University Press, 1984. 2nd ed.

ML128 .S3 L4 1984 MUSIC STACKS


Index of English language popular song literature from late 16th century to present, with special sections on greatest songs, award winners, specialty songs, British songs, etc. Main index includes composer, lyricist, date, origin of song. Includes alphabetical listing of composers and lyricists and songs included in main index. Also separate section on theater, film, radio and TV.

Lewine, Richard. Songs of the American Theater. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1973.

ML128 .S3 L53 MUSIC REFERENCE


List of songs from all Broadway and off-Broadway theater productions from 1925 through 1971. Also includes selected songs (ca. 300) from productions prior to 1925. First sections arranged by title of song, listing composer, lyricists, title of production and date. Includes some film and TV songs, so indicated. Second section is alphabetical listing of productions. Includes songs and authorship credits, date of New York opening and length of run. Also includes chronological list of productions and author/lyricist index.

Mattfield, Julius. Variety Music Cavalcade, 1620-1969. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1971.

ML128 .V7 M4 1971 MUSIC REFERENCE


Chronological list of popular vocal and instrumental music in the United States. Listing is based on year of publication or copyright. Includes title, composer, lyricist, publisher and date. Historical summary of each year precedes listing. Title index.

Shapiro, Nat. Popular Music: An Annotated Index of American Popular Songs. New York: Adrian Press, 1964-
ML120 .U5 S5 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selective annotated listing of popular songs. Series contains 9 volumes, arranged by decade and year within decade. Listing by title includes composer, lyricist, alternate title and publisher. Also includes source of song, first or best selling record, performer, and other relevant data.

Stecheson, Anthony. Stecheson Classified Song Directory. Hollywood, CA: Music Industry Press, 1961.

ML128 .V7 S83 MUSIC REFERENCE


Listing of over 100,000 popular songs in ca. 400 subject categories. Includes publisher and sometimes authors.

Suskin, Steven. Berlin, Kern, Rodgers, Hart, and Hammerstein: A Complete Song Cataloque. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1990.

ML128 .P63 S95 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing of all copyrighted songs by the five song writers, including some unpublished. Entries include alternate titles, reuses, collaborators, productions, dates, and publication information. Thorough indexing.

Suskin, Steven. Show Tunes, 1905-1985: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway's Major Composers. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1986.

ML390 .S983 1986 MUSIC REFERENCE


Concentrates on 30 major Broadway composers. Includes brief biographical sketch, comprehensive information on shows and songs, and appendixes of chronological listings, collaborators, etc. Also includes indexes for shows, songs, and people.

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.