Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Song Indexes (Art, Popular, and Folk)

DeCharms, Desiree. Songs in Collections: An Index. Detroit, MI.: Information Service Inc., 1966.

ML128 .S3 D37 MUSIC REFERENCE


An index of 411 collections of art songs, operatic arias, and some folk song anthologies, all with piano accompaniment. Limited to collections published between 1940 and 1957, but exhaustive of that period. Main index arranged in sections of composed songs, anonymous songs, and folk songs, carols and sea chanties. Includes index to all titles and first lines, and author index.

Find That Tune: An Index to Rock, Folk-rock, Disco & Soul in Collections. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1984-1988. 2 vols.

ML128 .R3 F56 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE


Indexes over 4000 songs in 203 published collections from 1950-1981. Contains title, first line, and composer/lyricist indexes.

Goleeke, Thomas. Literature for Voice. Metuchen, NJ.: Scarecrow Press, 1984.

ML128 .S3 G64 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE


An index to songs in 60 collections and source book for teachers of singing. Meant for beginning students. Gives the key and range of each song. Author and title indexes.

Goodfellow, William D. Where's That Tune?: An Index to Songs in Fakebooks. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1990.

ML128 .P63 G66 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


An index by titles and composers of 64 fakebooks totaling over 13,500 songs. For this index a "fakebook" is defined as a collection for which only the melody line, chord symbols, and words are written out.

Havlice, Patricia Pate. Popular Song Index. Metuchen, NJ.: Scarecrow Press, 1975. Also First supplement, 1978; Second supplement, 1984.

ML128 .S3 H4 MUSIC REFERENCE


Index of over 300 song books published between 1940-1972. Includes popular and folk, spirituals, hymns, children's songs, blues, etc. Arranged in 3 parts: 1) Bibliography of collections indexed; 2) Index, by title, first line of song, first line of chorus; 3) Composer/lyricist index.

Leigh, Robert. Index to Song Books. New York: DaCapo Press, 1973.

ML128 .S3 L45 1973 MUSIC REFERENCE


Title index of over 100 popular and folk song books published between 1933 and 1962. Includes ca. 6800 songs. Main index by title with references from alternate titles or memorable lines.

Sears, Minnie Earl. Song Index. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1926. Also Supplement, 1934.

ML128 .S3 S31 MUSIC REFERENCE


The main volume and supplement together index ca. 20,000 songs in 280 collections. Entries are by title, composer, author, with references from first line to title. Broad in scope, including operatic arias, art songs, folk, popular, etc. Includes classified list of collections indexed.

 

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.