Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Online Resources

The Cello Music Collections

This special collection of cello music is located at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. The Collections, housed in the Special Collections Division of Jackson Library, constitute the largest single holding of cello music-related materials in the world. There is a listing of music and manuscripts listed by cellist. Special Collections also maintains a collection of musical scores and other publications which compliment the materials in the other Cello Music Collections.

 

The Orchestra: A User's Manual

This online resource includes links and information about the Cello.

Cello

Cowling, Elizabeth. The Cello. London: Batsford, 1983.

MUSIC STACKS ML910.C7x 1983

This history of the violoncello includes an index and bibliography.

 

Stowell, Robin. The Cambridge Companion to the Cello. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.

MUSIC STACKS  ML910. C36 1999

Includes bibliographical references (p. 246-252) and index.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.