Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Saxophone

Gee, Harry R. Saxophone Soloists and Their Music, 1844-1985: An Annotated Bibliography. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1986.

ML128 .S247 G5 1986 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing of prominent saxophone soloists from the earliest nineteenth century players through the present day, including selected jazz saxophonists. Each entry includes a biographical sketch, compositions, dedications and recordings. Includes a brief historical background.

Londeix, Jean-Marie. 125 Ans de Musique pour Saxophone: Repertoire General des Oeuvres et des Ouvrages d'Enseignement pour le Saxophone. Paris: A. Leduc, 1971.

ML128 .S247 L6 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of music for the saxophone from 1844 to 1969. Biographical information on the composers are extracts, in both French and English, from other works. Excludes orchestral and jazz literature.

Londeix, Jean-Marie. Music for Saxophone, Volume II: General Repertoire of Music and Educational Literature for the Saxophone. Cherry Hill, NJ: Roncoro, 1985.

ML128 .S247 L62x 1985 MUSIC REFERENCE


A continuation of the preceding work covering the period from 1969 to 1984. Includes original compositions, transcriptions and symphonic works, for a total of around 10,000 pieces. Biographical extracts not as extensive. Includes separate indexes by instrumentation.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.