Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Translation Aids

Coffin, Berton. Word-by-Word Translations of Songs and Arias. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1966. 2 v.

ML154.6 .C7 W7 MUSIC REFERENCE


Contains a wide selection of texts from German, French and Italian vocal literature. The English translation is literal, and line-by-line. Vol. 1 contains German and French, vol. 2 Italian. Both are arranged alphabetically by composer with title/first line indexes.

Dix Cycles de Lieder = Ten Cycles of Lieder. Montreal, Quebec: Le Presses de l'Universite de Montreal, 1977.

ML54.6 .D58x MUSIC REFERENCE


Contains 10 major song cycles of Beethoven, Brahms, Mahler, Schubert and Schumann. The original text is given line-by-line translation into French and English, plus free translations into both languages. Index by individual song title.

Fischer-Dieskau, Dietrich. Fischer-Dieskau Book of Lieder: The Texts of over 750 Songs. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1977.

PT1160 .E6 F5 1977 MUSIC REFERENCE


Contains the original texts of over 750 German Lieder together with English translations. Includes indexes by composers, poets and translators, and title/first line.

German Lieder. New York: Continuum, 1990.

ML54.6 .G275 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


Translations from German to English of a selection from the Lieder repertoire. Notes additional settings of the poems by other composers. Thorough indexing.

Masters of the Italian Art Song: Word-by-Word and Poetic Translations of the Complete Songs for Voice and Piano. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1990.

ML54.6 .M34 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE

Includes the complete songs of Bellini, Donaudy, Donizetti, Puccini, Rossini, Tosti and Verdi. Arrangement is alphabetical by composer and then song title. Includes indexes of song titles and first lines.

Miller, Philip L. Ring of Words: An Anthology of Song Texts. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1963.

ML54.6 .M5 R5 1973 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selection of original texts, English translations and commentary from the art song literature in German, French, Italian, Russian, Spanish and Scandinavian. Body of work arranged alphabetically by poet in each language, with separate composer and title/first line indexes.

Phillips, Lois. Lieder Line-by-Line and Word-for-Word. New York: C. Scribner's, 1979.

ML54.6 .P55 L5 1980 MUSIC REFERENCE


Contains selected songs of the major German Lieder composers. Word-for-word English translation is printed below German text with English free translation to the side. Indexed by title and first line.

Prawer, Siegbert Salomon. Penquin Book of Lieder. Baltimore: Penguin Books, 1964.

ML54.6 .P75 P5 MUSIC REFERENCE


Translations from German to English of a selection from the Lieder repertoire.

Schubert and Schumann: Songs and Translations. Carleton, Victoria: Melbourne University Press, 1946.

ML54.6 .S39 G3 1972 MUSIC REFERENCE


Original texts and English translations of most of the large song cycles, and other selected songs. Indexed by title and first line.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.