Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Clayton, Peter. Jazz A-Z. Enfield, Middlesex: Guinness, 1986.

ML102 .J3 C53 1986 MUSIC REFERENCE


A dictionary of jazz terms, slang, styles, geographic locations, movements, clubs and other venues, etc. Includes a few biographical entries, but it is difficult to judge on what basis they were chosen. Also includes interesting illustrations of historical posters, advertisements, record jackets, and photographs. Selective list of jazz musicians and singers at end.

 

Cook, Richard. Richard Cook's Jazz Encyclopedia. London, New York: Penguin, 2005.

ML102 .J3 C66 2005 MUSIC REFERENCE


An A-to-Z listing primarily of jazz artists, but also including some terminology, jazz jargon, and other interesting information. Each artist listing has the name, dates, instrument or role, a brief biographical entry, and a suggested characteristic recording.

 

Feather, Leonard G. The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz. Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.

ML102 .J3 F4 1999 MUSIC REFERENCE


An expansion and revision of the Encyclopedia of Jazz series. Primarily consists of abbreviated biographical entries on jazz artists, includes full names, dates, instruments, and important recordings. Also includes abbreviation key.

 

Feather, Leonard G. Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Seventies. New York: Horizon, 1976.

ML102 .J3 F43 1976 MUSIC REFERENCE


A continuation of the Encyclopedia of Jazz series. This work covers the field of jazz from the mid-60's to the mid-70's. Biographical entries comprise major portion of the volume. Includes article on jazz education, with list of schools offering courses or programs. Also a guide to jazz films, recommended recordings of 1966-1975, and bibliography.

 

Feather, Leonard G. Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Sixties. New York: Horizon, 1966.

ML102 .J3 F42x 1966 MUSIC REFERENCE


Modeled after the basic Encyclopedia of Jazz, this work gives extensive coverage of jazz during the first half of the 1960's. The biographical entries are based on prominence during these years.

 

Feather, Leonard G. New Edition of the Encyclopedia of Jazz. New York: Horizon, 1960.

ML102 .J3 F4 1960 MUSIC REFERENCE


A classic reference book on the history and biographies of jazz from the turn of the century to 1960. Includes an extensive historical survey and a variety of articles, lists of organizations, schools, record companies, and a brief bibliography. The major portion of the work consists of biographical listing of jazz musicians. The entries are brief, but contain basic factual information. Illustrated.

 

Gold, Robert S. Jazz Lexicon. New York: Knopf, 1964.

ML102 .J3 G6 MUSIC REFERENCE


A dictionary of standard jazz terms, including definitions and citations from written usage. Somewhat dated.

 

Gold, Robert S. Jazz Talk. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1975.

ML102 .J3 G63x MUSIC REFERENCE


A dictionary of jazz slang from its beginnings to the mid-1970's. Each entry contains a definition of the term and selective citations from written record. Includes bibliography.

 

Johnson, Bruce. Oxford Companion to Australian Jazz. Melbourne; New York: Oxford University Press, 1987.

ML3509 .A97 J64 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive reference work on jazz in Australia. Contains several essays on history and evolution, and a major section of dictionary entries for groups and individual jazz musicians. Thorough indexing.

 

Kinkle, Roger D. Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950. 4 vols. New Rochelle, NY: Arlington House, 1974.

ML102 .P66 K55 MUSIC REFERENCE


A wide-ranging 4 volume work covering the contributions of singers, orchestra leaders, instrumentalists, composers, and lyricists to popular music and jazz. Volume 1 is devoted to a chronological listing of Broadway musicals, songs, and representative recordings. Volumes 2 and 3 are devoted to biographical entries, and volume 4 to appendices and indexes. Emphasis is more on popular music than jazz.

 

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Second Edition. 3 vols. London: Macmillan, 2002.

ML102 .J3 N48 2002 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive dictionary of jazz, following the style and tradition of the other great Grove dictionaries of music. Includes entries for over 5000 individual jazz musicians, as well as articles on terminology and theory, musical instruments, record labels, festivals, and films. Most articles include one or more bibliographical citations for further reading, and some include selected recordings. The contents are also available in the New Grove Online.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.