General Reading (M-Z)

McClary, Susan. Feminine Endings: Music, Gender, and Sexuality. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1991.

ML82 .M38 1991 MUSIC STACKS

This book covers feminism and sex in music. It includes bibliographical references as well as an index.

Mender, Mona. Extraordinary women in support of music. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 1997.

ML385 . M37 1997 MUSIC STACKS

Profiles of ca. 65 women who contributed to the furthering of music in the Western work, from the 5th century B.C. to the present. Grouped by areas of activity, such as patronesses, teachers, administrators, etc.

Music, gender, and culture. Wilhelmshaven : F. Noetzel, 1990.

ML182 .M78 1990 MUSIC STACKS

A collection of ethnomusicological studies by women scholars.

Musical Woman. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1984- .

ML 182 .M8 MUSIC REFERENCE

Three volumes of this series have so far been published. Vol. 1 covers 1983, vol. 2 1984-85, and vol. 3 1986-90. Each volume begins with a Gazette which lists performances, festivals, prizes and awards, publications, discographies, etc. Part II, Essays, covers a wide range of subjects on every aspect of women and music. An extremely rich resource.

O'Brien, Lucy. She bop ; the definitive history of women in rock, pop, and soul. New York : Penguin Books, 1996.

ML82 .O27 1996 MUSIC STACKS

Pendle, Karin. Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide. New York : Routledge, 2005.

ML128.W7 P46 2005 MUSIC REFERENCE

Placksin, Sally. American Women in Jazz: 1900 to the Present: Their Words, Lives, and Music. New York: Seaview Books, 1982.

ML3508 .P58 1982b MUSIC STACKS

A collection of biographical profiles with emphasis on instrumentalists. Includes selective discography.

Rediscovering the muses : women's musical traditions. Boston : Northeastern University Press, 1993.

MAL82 .R43 1993 MUSIC STACKS

A collection of essays covering a wide range of women's musical activities, both Western and non-Western.

Steward, Sue. Signed, Sealed, and Delivered: True Life Stories of Women in Pop. London: Pluto Press, 1984.

ML82 .S8 1984 MUSIC STACKS

Primary focus is on British women pop and rock musicians.

Tick, Judith. American Women Composers before 1870. Ann Arbor, MI: UMI Research Press, 1983.

ML390 .T53 1983 MUSIC STACKS

A study of American women composers and social attitudes toward female musicians before 1870. The repertory found in large collections of sheet music is a basis for the study. Includes many complete examples of music and a lengthy bibliography.

Upton, George Putman. Woman in Music: An Essay. Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1880.

ML82 .U72 MUSIC STACKS

This work is not about women as musicians, but rather their influence on eight major male composers. Of particular interest is the opening chapter which reflects the late 19th century view on women as composers.

Women & Music: A History. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1991.

ML82 .W6 1991 MUSIC STACKS

A collection of substantial essays covering the history of women and music from ancient times to the present. Includes material on popular music and the special roles of women in music. An excellent source.

Women and Music in Cross-Cultural Perspective. Ed. by Ellen Koskoff. New York: Greenwood, 1987.

ML82 .W63 1987 MUSIC STACKS

A collection of essays on women, music, and culture, exclusive of Western classical music.

Women in Music: An Anthology of Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present. Ed. by Carol Neuls-Bates. New York: Harper & Row, 1982.

ML82 .W65 1982 MUSIC STACKS

The sub-title of this book adequately describes the contents. Contains a broad range of material for general reading.

Women Making Music: The Western Art Tradition, 1150-1950. Ed. by Jane Bowers and Judith Tick. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1986.

ML82 .W67 1986 MUSIC STACKS

A collection of 15 scholarly essays on a wide variety of topics.