Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Bassoon

Beebe, Jon P. Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon: An Annotated Bibliography. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1990.

ML128 .B26 B43 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


A bibliography of 159 compositions for solo bassoon. Each entry is thoroughly annotated, with analytical information on style, techniques required, and level of difficulty. Musical examples sometimes provided. Includes glossary of unusual performance techniques.

Bulling, Burchard. Fagott Bibliographie. Wilhelmshaven: Florian Noetzel Verlag, 1989.

ML128 .B27 B937 1989 MUSIC REFERENCE


An extensive bibliography of literature for the bassoon. Two major sections cover the bassoon as solo instrument, and in ensemble. Also contains listings for the contrabassoon, and a section of works about the bassoon. Preface in German.

Cooper, Lewis Hugh. Essentials of bassoon technique. Union, N.J. : H. Toplansky, 1968.

MT402 .C66 1968 MUSIC STACKS


An extensive encyclopedic presentation of fingerings and their usage. The fingerings are labeled as basic or advanced technique as the book is designed for teachers, advanced students, and professionals.

The Double Reed. East Lansing, Mich. : International Double Reed Society, 1978-.

ML929 .D69 MUSIC STACKS


The official publication of the International Double Reed Society, this periodical contains current events, articles, and reviews relavent to oboe and bassoon playing. It is published three times a year.

Fletcher, Kristine. Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1987.

ML128 .B26 F6 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A compilation of the contest solos for bassoon commissioned by the Paris Conservatoire from 1898 to 1984. Contains chapters on the early history of the Conservatoire, its directors and bassoon professors, and the development of the competitions. The bibliography of solos is thoroughly annotated with assessments of musical content and technical requirements.

Jansen, Will. The Bassoon: Its History, Construction, Makers, Players, and Music. The Netherlands : Uitgeverij F. Knuf, c1978.

ML950 .J36 1978 MUSIC STACKS


An extensive five-volume work addresses all aspects of bassoon playing. A biographical dictionary of bassoonists, bassoon makers, bibliographic studies of bassoon literature, lists of bassoon music, discography, and a bibliography are included.

Joppig, Gunther. The Oboe and the Bassoon. Portland, Or. : Amadeus Press, 1988.

ML940 .J6613 1988 MUSIC STACKS


A translation of Oboe & Fagott, this work examines the history of the oboe and bassoon. Topics include mechanization, tuning, the varieties of oboes and bassoons, and reed-making. Includes an index and bibliography.

Koenigsbeck, Bodo. Bassoon Bibliography. Monteux, France : Musica Rara, 1994.

ML128 .B26 K7x 1994 MUSIC STACKS


This book lists works by composers from the seventeenth century to present times. Included in the lists are title, instrumentation, performance time, publishers, and reference numbers. Part II of the book lists compositions according to instrumentation.

Langwill, Lyndesay Graham. Bassoon and Contrabassoon. New York: W.W. Norton, 1971.

ML950 .L29 1971 MUSIC STACKS


Primarily a history of the bassoon, but includes appendixes listing bassoon makers, solo music for the bassoon and contrabassoon, and a rare discography of bassoon players.

McKay, James R. The Bassoon Reed Manual: Lou Skinner's Theories and Techniques. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2000.

ML951 .M35 2000 MUSIC STACKS


A thorough examination of Lou Skinner's techniques of bassoon reed making.

Popkin, Mark. Bassoon Reed Making. Evanston,IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1969.

ML951 .P66 MUSIC STACKS


This work examines bassoon repair, maintenance, adjustment, and an approach to bassoon playing.

Wilkins, Wayne. Index of Bassoon Music: Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1976.

ML128 .B2 W5x MUSIC REFERENCE


A limited work listing composer, title and publisher only of solo and ensemble literature for the bassoon.

 

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.