Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Biographies

Carner, Gary. Jazz Performers: An Annotated Bibliography of Biographical Materials. New York: Greenwood, 1990.

ML128 .B3 C37 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


An annotated bibliography of books, theses, dissertations, and scholarly journal articles, in all languages, published from 1921 to the present. The main section of the work is an alphabetical listing of biographical sources on individual jazz musicians and ensembles. Also includes a substantial supplementary bibliography and thorough indexing.

 

Carr, Ian. Jazz: The Essential Companion. London: Grafton, 1987.

ML102 .J3 C33x 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE

Primarily a biographical source, this volume also contains definitions of words and phrases, explanations of various terms, and essays on major subjects. Biographical entries are international in scope and include virtually all leading innovators and players. Representative recordings are listed with each entry.

 

Case, Brian. Illustrated Encyclopedia of Jazz. New York: Harmony, 1978.

ML102 .J3 C34 MUSIC REFERENCE


An alphabetical listing of jazz musicians. Each entry contains brief biographical information and a selective list of recordings. Many entries include photographs or portraits of the musician.

 

Chilton, John. Who's Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street. 4th ed. London: Macmillan, 1985.

ML106 .U3 C5 1985b MUSIC REFERENCE


A biographical dictionary of over 1000 American jazz musicians born before 1920. The entries are fairly brief, but give basic information.

 

Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Biographical Dictionary of Jazz. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1982.

ML390 .C59 1982 MUSIC REFERENCE


A dictionary of jazz musicians, covering the beginnings to the present, and including European musicians. Most entries are quite brief, so this is most useful as a quick reference tool. Includes an index of jazz and various small groups.

 

Unterbrink, Mary. Jazz Women at the Keyboard. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1983.

ML397 .U57 1983 MUSIC REFERENCE


Contains biographical accounts, in varying lengths, of women jazz pianists. Not arranged in dictionary form, but rather by geographical area. Includes background information on various styles and areas of activity. Suffers from lack of separate index to featured biographies, but does include name index.



Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.