Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Woodwinds: Ensembles

Doherty, Charles R. Twentieth Century Woodwind Quintet Music of the United States. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1971.

FILM 9274 MUSIC MICROFORMS

A D.M.A. thesis from the University of Missouri, Kansas City, 1971.

Gillespie, James E.    Reed Trio: An Annotated Bibliography of Original Published Works. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1971.

ML128 .W5 G54 MUSIC REFERENCE


A specialized bibliography of works for the specific combination of oboe, clarinet and bassoon. Limited to available works published between 1897 and 1968. The listing is alphabetical by composer and includes thorough annotations with comments on style and performance considerations.

Heller, George N. Ensemble Music for Wind and Percussion Instruments: A Catalog. Washington, D.C.: Music Educators National Conference, 1970.

ML128 .W5 H4 MUSIC REFERENCE


A graded listing of ensemble literature for a wide variety of instrumental combinations. Limited bibliographic information.

Helm, Sanford M. Catalog of Chamber Music for Wind Instruments. New York: Da Capo, 1969. Rev. print.

ML128 .C4 H4 1969 MUSIC REFERENCE


A dated listing of ensemble literature for a wide range of instrumentation.

Hosek, Miroslav. Das Blaserquintett = The Woodwind Quintet. Grunwald: B. Bruchle, 1979.

ML128 .W5 H67 MUSIC REFERENCE


A thorough bibliography of both published and unpublished works for woodwind quintet alone and in combination with other instruments or voice. Includes a list of ensembles, their members and addresses. Introductory material on the origin of the quintet, acoustics, and performance.

Peters, Harry B. Literature of the Woodwind Quintet. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1971.

ML128 .W5 P5 MUSIC REFERENCE


A basic listing of original compositions and arrangements for the woodwind quintet and additions of up to five instruments.

Squire, Alan Paul. Annotated Bibliography of Written Material Pertinent to the Performance of Woodwind Chamber Music. Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1960.

FILM 6438  MUSIC MICROFORMS

A thesis from the University of Illinois.

Voxman, Himie. Woodwind Ensemble Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist, 1973.

ML128 .W5 V7 MUSIC REFERENCE


Originally meant as a guide to literature in print for wind and percussion instruments. Because of its date it is no longer useful for that purpose, but can be helpful as a general guide. Arranged by instrumentation, and lists only author, title and publisher.

Voxman, Himie. Woodwind Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist, 1982- .

ML128 .W5 V71 1982 v.1 MUSIC REFERENCE


An updated edition of the earlier guide to ensemble literature. Arranged by instrumentation, with index of composers and arrangers.


Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.