Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Journals

African Music

ML5 .A26 MUSIC JOURNALS


Published in South Africa, this is the journal of the International Library of African Music. Articles cover all aspects of African music. Reviews of books, audio recordings, and videos appear in each edition. The back page of every edition shows a map of Africa which indicates where geographically the origins of each article. The library possesses copies from 1954 - 1999.

 

Asian Music
ML1 .A834 MUSIC JOURNALS

 

This is the journal of the Society for Asian Music. It is published twice a year and contains in-depth articles on various topics. Reviews of books, audio recordings, and video recordings also appear in each edition.

 

Ethnomusicology

ML1 .E77 MUSIC JOURNALS

This is the journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology. It provides in-depth articles on current research in the field. Book, recording, and film and video reviews by leading figures in the field also appear in each edition.

 

Latin American Music Review

ML199 .R48 MUSIC JOURNALS


Published twice a year by the University of Texas Press, this journal provides in-depth articles on various topics related to Latin American music. Reviews of books are usually included.

 

Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology

ML3799 .C34 S4 MUSIC JOURNALS


Issued by the Institute of Ethnomusicology at UCLA, this journal provides in-depth articles on various ethnomusicological topics. The library possesses volumes from 1974-1994.

 

The World of Music

ML5 .W67 MUSIC JOURNALS


Published out of the University of Bamberg in Germany, this journal provides a European perspective on ethnomusicology. It is published three times a year and provides in-depth articles and reviews of books and recordings. Each edition is generally thematic.

 

Yearbook for Traditional Music

ML1 .I719 MUSIC JOURNALS


Published annually by the International Council for Traditional Music, this title contains articles and reviews of videos, books, and audio materials. Former titles include Journal of the International Folk Music Council and Yearbook of the International Folk Music Council.

 

 

 

 

 

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.