Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Online Resources

Guitar Foundation of America

 

America's leading guitar organization.  The GFA Archive page links visitors to the GFA material currently available at the Bierce Library at the University of Akron, as well as other important guitar-related collections.

 

International Index to Music Periodicals, Full Tex Edition (IIMP)

 

This database accesses over 370 international music periodicals for more than 20 countries, with 60 full text titles. All full text records provide an abstract. Obituaries and feature music articles from the New York Times and The Washington Post are available.

 

 

JSTOR

 

Includes longruns of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology. Collection includes Full-text from the JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through IV, JSTOR Arts & Sciences Complement, JSTOR Biological SciencesCollection, JSTOR Business II Collections, JSTOR Ecology and Botany, JSTOR Health and General Sciences Collection, and JSTOR Music collections

 

 

Music Index Online

 

This database provides music coverage of journal articles, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, first performances, and obituaries. The dates range from 1979 to 1998 and it is updated quarterly. Over 640 international music periodicals are covered.

 

 

Oxford Music Online

 

Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2d edition; 29 volumes); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes); The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2d edition; 3 volumes); The Oxford Dictionary of Music; and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.