Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Subject Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.

Trumpet

Burgess, Jon Wesley. "Annotated Bibliography of Trumpet Ensemble Music: For Five or More Trumpets." Thesis (D.M.A.) Arizona State University, 1988.

LD179.15 1988d B874 MUSIC REFERENCE


Each entry contains detailed annotations, including grade of difficulty, duration, scoring and range, and any special requirements.  Includes useful list of publishers and sources.

 

Cansler, Philip T. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Organ: An Annotated Bibliography. Nashville: Brass Press, 1984.

ML128 .T78 C32 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing of 87 compositions for trumpet and organ published as of 1983. Each entry is extensively annotated and includes biographical information on the composer, analysis of the work including range, tessitura and grade level, and suitability for ceremonial or recital use.

 

Carnovale, Norbert. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra: An Annotated Bibliography. Nashville: Brass Press, 1975.

ML128 .T78 C34 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selected listing of 179 compositions for solo trumpet and orchestra, written primarily between 1900 and 1972. Many of the works are available in piano reduction. Each entry is annotated, and often includes level of difficulty.

 

Lowrey, Alvin. Lowrey's International Trumpet Discography. 2 vols. Columbia, SC: Camden House, 1990.

ML156.4 .T8 L68 1990 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive discography of recordings for solo trumpet or trumpet featured in ensemble. The first volume is arranged alphabetically by the surname of the featured trumpet soloists, with complete information on each recording. The second volume consists of a repertoire index arranged by composer, and an artist index arranged by instrument or voice.

 

Mathie, Gordon. Trumpet Teacher's Guide: A Bibliography of Selected and Graded Etudes. Cincinnati, OH: Queen City Brass, 1984.

ML132 .T78 M38x 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE


A listing of specific etudes related to forty-one aspects or problems of trumpet playing.

Subjects: Music

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.